a couple of happy travelers.

Nicole and I felt like traveling today.

To Portsmouth, NH.  And maybe Maine.

And so, this is what we did.

I packed our lunches and tucked them away in a cooler for the ride down.  I opted for my current summer obsession, which is simply a white bean & basil spread, smeared onto a whole wheat tortilla and layered with garden fresh lettuce and tomato.

Bright.  Zingy.  Fresh.  Kind of like pesto.

It’s as close as you can get to eating summer.

The traffic turned our drive from what was supposed to be a 1.5 hour drive into a 3.5 hour drive.  Insane!  

But we both agreed that Portsmouth, NH was totally worth it.  Love this city!!  Along with Fredericton, NB, I feel that this is another city after my own heart.

We found ourselves walking through brick walkways, coffee shops, music shops, kitchen stores.

And quaint and cozy little bakeries.

Yes.  Lots and lots of bakeries.  This might have something to do with why I loved this city so much. 😉

But, our final destination was Maine, and so this is where we ended up.

I was able to get some shopping in while we were out and about, driving through Kittery.  And, believe it or not, I’m already starting my Christmas list, which is unheard of for me!  I’m the most last minute shopper you will ever meet.

I’ve got to say.  Being productive feels pretty good. 😉

After the shopping, we wanted ice cream.

Because, you know, every once in a while it’s okay to eat dessert before dinner.

Dinner came afterwards, as we went to one of my favorite restaurants in Kittery.

Roberts.

I ordered a bleu cheese salad with balsamic vinaigrette, which was just meh.  

But.  Of course.  You don’t go to Maine to eat solely a salad.

I really wanted the mussels.

These were right on the dot.  Perfect.  Just the way I like love them.

Olive oil meets garlic meets a touch of butter meets white wine.  With a sprinkle of parsley, just because.  I couldn’t stop sighing over the deliciousness of the mussels.  Of the broth.  I worked my way through the mussels and moved on to dunking my garlic bread, letting it sop up the life of the broth.  Heaven.  Absolutely.

Today was fabulous.  I love foodie excursions and road trips and traveling.

Especially when Josh Groban is singing on the radio, the sun is shining, and there’s ice cream to cool down with.

Especially when this girl is involved.

White Bean & Basil Spread

  • 1 15-oz. can of white beans
  • 1 large bunch of basil, stems removed
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • dash of cayenne
  1. In a food processor, combine all ingredients.  Use as a spread for sandwiches, crackers, or vegetables.  Enjoy!

QUESTION: What was the highlight of your SATURDAY? 

9 comments on “a couple of happy travelers.

  1. yum! I have always wanted to travel to Maine. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Sounds like a great trip, and I am going to try this spread soon!

  3. BroccoliHut says:

    Definitely trying your white bean spread this week!

  4. sofia says:

    this looks like such a fun trip. and the pictures are gorgeous! recently discovered your blog and am loving it 🙂

  5. Aw I love reading about your travels!! Portsmouth looks so cute. I can’t believe still haven’t visited the eastern US, considering it’s really not that far from Toronto.

  6. Lacey says:

    SO I made that bean spread this week for a supper for my little family. I wanted to add a bit more to make it a substantial meal so I made burritos with the bean spread topped with tomatoes, bacon and cheese. Then we grilled them. Delicious!!

Leave a Reply

