Thank Goodness for Kale and Blueberries.

Thank goodness for kale and blueberries.

They’re cheap.  They’re delicious.  They’re fresh and nutritious.  They make life normal.

Thank goodness.

Because this guy cost me $108, and I’m afraid I’d do it again in a heart beat.

I remember the day exactly.

Nicole phoned me, gushing that Josh Groban was coming to Boston and did I want in?  The tickets were $108.  Ouch.

I thought about it.  I did.  I seriously contemplated it like any mature young woman who is desperately trying to pay off student loans while working part time and searching for a better job would do.  And then I stopped thinking and giddily shouted “YES!!!!”

In a very mature, very grown up way of course (ha!)  😉

We decided to make a whole day of it.  Panera for dinner.  Starbucks steamers for “dessert.”  I opted for a cinnamon dolce steamer with soy and extra cinnamon sprinkled on top.

I didn’t need the caffeine.  Josh Groban had me giddy with nervous energy.  Who am I?

I’ve been anticipating this day for as long as I can remember.

Well.  Three months.  Since the day Nicole called me to lure me in on the fun.

And then, I kept wondering what would happen if I lost the tickets.  If they slipped from my hands and floated–softly–into a gutter.  Or if I had an unknown hole in my purse, and they suddenly disappeared.  Nicole was getting nervous by my nervousness and kept asking me if I still had the tickets.

Which I did.  There were no accidents or mishaps, whatsoever (phew!)

Even still, I would have had a blast just being in Boston with Nicole and Nate for the night.  I would have still been a very happy girl.

But, of course, listening to Josh sing the night away certainly didn’t hurt either.

He sang all the good songs.  All my favorites.  And then some.

What. A. Day.

Which brings me back to the point of this post.

Which is to say, thank goodness for kale and blueberries.

Cheap.  Affordable.  Nutritious.

Because sometimes my economical, mature side gets pushed to the side.  Sometimes I don’t do make the most responsible choice possible.  Sometimes I blow $108 on a concert ticket.

But.  Sometimes?  It’s worth it.

Kale and Blueberry Smoothie

If you’re a newbie to green smoothies, opt for baby spinach in place of the kale, which will give you a much more mild, ‘sweeter’ taste.

  • 1 cup torn kale, stems removed
  • 1 cup frozen or fresh blueberries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1.5 cup vanilla soymilk
  • sprinkle of cinnamon (optional–for cinnamon lovers)
  1. In a blender, combine all ingredients.  Serve for breakfast or a light lunch, with a mini whole wheat bagel ‘n’ peanut butter on the side, for extra filling power.  Enjoy!
QUESTION: What are some things you don’t mind spending a little extra on now and then?  I’ll spend extra on certain foods that I really, really enjoy.  Or on a piece of clothing that I know will last forever or that I’ll wear a ton.  OR, once in a while, I’ll spend what feels like a mini fortune on a really great concert ticket. 😉
13 comments on “Thank Goodness for Kale and Blueberries.

  1. Evan Thomas says:

    I will spend top dollar on chocolate. My sanity is worth the money.

  2. Lisa Fine says:

    Sounds good – I have all of those ingredients in the fridge (though not a full cup of blueberries). I may try this tomorrow.

    I don’t mind spending money on good chocolate, like Evan said. I also like to buy organic yogurt, and will splurge on things like coconut butter, Greek yogurt, and avocadoes, because I love them.

  3. BroccoliHut says:

    I spend a lot of money to keep my dog Margot healthy and happy–somehow I don’t mind dropping several bucks on a toy or a bag of treats for her:)

  4. sofia says:

    I spend money on my nails. And Greek yogurt. And yoga. And dinners out. And organic fruits and veggies. Yep. I’m cool.

  5. I love going to concerts! Some things that are worth spending more money are for me traveling, education and food. I do try to always find the cheapest option, as long as it doesn’t compromise the quality.

  6. carlydeal says:

    We splurge on concerts all the time! And Josh Groban? Jealous!
    Also food, but I don’t consider it splurging. We can afford it, so we buy the best quality. I feel like it is more of an investment in health then a splurge! 😉

  7. I splurge on healthy foods- organic produce, better meats, etc… all of the time! I also tend to save up for designer jeans… whoops 🙂
    I haven’t tried a smoothie combo like that! Tasty tasty

  8. Josh Groban!! *sigh*
    I’m so jealous. I bet he is amazing in concert. He seems to have such a presence on stage.

Leave a Reply

