the effects of warm weather.

The heat and humidity have packed up and left, being replaced with a cool, dry breeze that makes you feel as if you’ve just jumped out of a very hot steam room, right into a cool shower.  Refreshing.  Absolutely.

And this is a very good thing.  Yes.  The temperature switch came just in time.  Why, you ask?  Well.  The heat does funny things to me.

For example—and I think you will agree—it’s not entirely normal to laugh hysterically while making silly poses for no apparent reason in the middle of a frisbee game.

(although it WAS kind of fun)

And, it is very unlike me to wake up grumpy in the morning.

It’s not normal for me to laugh so hard that I cry, ending up in a fit of hiccups.

Well.  Okay, okay.  This actually, honestly, really is kind of normal.

It’s not normal for me to not have an appetite.  To want nothing to eat but salads and yogurt and ice cream.

That’s not to say that I couldn’t eat ice cream every day of my life and not be happy, of course.

And it’s completely unacceptable to always wake up with frizzy hair every. single. morning.  Not even the blow dryer and flat iron with a gazillion products could have protected me this week.

Thank goodness for hair ties and hats.

Yes.

The cooler weather came just in time.

As did breakfast.

I love oats after they’ve sopped up all the liquids and delicious flavors!

I have been eating breakfast out on the deck every single morning this past week.  There’s something special about dining al fresco with nothing but chickadees, robins, and the little black cat next door for company.

A deliciously refreshing start to my day.

This weekend has been a pretty active one.  I went canoeing and swimming on Friday.  Biking (for my first time this YEAR) on Saturday.  And hiking yesterday.

I think today I need a nice long walk and some yoga to stretch out those hamstrings and arms. 😀

Spicy Breakfast Cookie (serves 1)

  • 1/2 cup uncooked, old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 3/4 banana, mashed (save the other 1/4 for a topping)
  • 1 Tbsp. peanut butter
  • 1 Tbsp. crushed flax
  • plenty of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves (adjust to preferences)
  • pinch of salt (optional)
  • 1-2 Tbsp. milk (as needed)
  1. In a medium bowl, mix together oats, banana, peanut butter, flax, spices, and salt if using.  Add small amounts of milk, if batter seems too dry.  Smash well with a fork.
  2. Transfer batter to a plate and spread out to the edges, creating a “cookie pattern.”  Cover plate and refrigerate overnight.
  3. The next morning, uncover, slice the rest of the banana on top and serve.  Top with coconut or sliced almonds if desired.  ENJOY!

QUESTION: Are you a cold weather person or a warm weather person?  I’d much rather be pleasantly cool than too hot.  But I also hate being cold.  I’m horribly picky! 😀

14 comments on “the effects of warm weather.

  1. Emad says:

    Nice Photos !

  2. I’ll take cold any day! Okay, maybe not like Minnesota-winter-cold but something around 60 degrees year round.

  3. Caitlyn says:

    It is official, we are somehow related 🙂 I am always breaking out into dance or making weird poses at odd times (Josh Groban music brings out the best moves)!

    Would it surprise you if I said I am the same way about hot/cold weather as you? I don’t like it too hot and humid, but I also don’t like it shivering cold. The perfect temperature is when it is cool enough for me to wear a fleece, but warm enough that my teeth aren’t chattering. Incredibly picky!

  4. beautiful pictures!!

    i hate hate hate the cold. although this summer has been brutally hot, i’ll still take it over winter weather 🙂

  5. Ashlei says:

    Haha I love laughing so hard I cry. 🙂

    And I definitely prefer warm weather. Not looking forward to winter coming soon.

  6. Hey Sarah, so glad you stopped by my blog so I could find yours! It’s great 🙂
    The heat does funny things to me too haha, I get rather delusional! These pictures are wonderful lady

  7. I actually lose my appetite in the heat as well! Weird isn’t it?

  8. I really love your simplified layout. It totally suits you and your site. Love.

  9. I really hate the cold but SUPE Rhot weather is the pits! I’ve been only wanting light sandwiches, salads, and ice cream too! The heat can break any time now!!

  10. […] Spicy Breakfast Cookie (click for recipe) with a glass of vanilla soymilk […]

  11. You are adorable. And incredibly beautiful. And I want your breakfast cookie, NOW!

    I’m definitely a warm weather person, although winter is a nice reprieve from the heat : )

Leave a Reply

