Canada: The Last 3 Days

At the risk of scaring you away with my sudden outburst of compiling all three (yes THREE!) of my last days spent in Canada into one (yes ONE!) post, here I go…

…it’s really for the best, in the long run, as I’m dying to share with you some of the other things that have been happening in life, along with some food too of course!

Speaking of food…

This was my breakfast for most every day of the week.  I found myself re-falling in love with cold cereal every morning, despite the chilly temps.

Kashi Go Lean with loads of blueberries, strawberries, almonds and soymilk.  Yum.

I also ate lots of vegetables in order to keep my body feeling as close to normal as possible throughout vacation and bread and cookies.  Everyone else seemed in on the idea too. 😀

Ten years ago (the last time I was in Canada…*gasp!*) I can recall having a blast at my great uncle’s camp.  He was more than okay with letting us each try out his four wheelers, and even my Memere joined in on the fun.

There are acres and acres of woods out here at his camp.  It’s quite literally in the middle of nowhere.

Even still, I didn’t trust myself with driving the four wheeler, this time around.  Either that or I just though riding on the back sounded more fun.  So that’s what I did.  And I left the learning and driving up to Matthew who did quite the fine job. 😉

My great uncle also happens to be a great hunter, and there are signs of his hunting skills all around the camp.

Mom and Dad had fun with the four wheelers too. :mrgreen:

And then we went out on a trail to take a peek at some of my great uncle’s favorite hunting and fishing spots.

I don’t speak French, but this says something along the lines of…

To fully enjoy nature, one must stop and listen.  So true!

This is just one of the many hunting spots that he uses to hunt moose, bear and deer.

It was a very windy day, and the entire fort was shaking like under cooked pumpkin pie.

Matthew was brave and climbed up to the top.

I had no issues with the climbing up.  It was coming down that freaked me out. 😉

…Driving “Home”…

We finished off the busy, fun day with a friendly game of frisbee.

And then I ate more bread (there does seem to be a theme for this vacation!)

We finished the night off with many discussions centering on life, relationships, weather, Canada and food.

The following day, we found ourselves at the Dunes in Bouctouche!

The oceans look so different than the ones we have back at home.  More ferocious, somehow.  Wild and untamed.

Matthew braved the water (I was still freaked out by the jelly fish that stung me, and so I stayed safe on the shore. 😉 )

My favorite men! 😀

And then we freshened up and went to a wine tasting at one of the local vineyards.

The owner of the shop was incredibly knowledgeable about the grapes and her vineyards, and we all learned so much about the different crops that she was growing, as well as making smart choices for food pairings.

I loved all the wines, but my favorite was the blueberry and the strawberry, which was more of a dessert wine.  We bought a bottle of each, along with a red wine.  The blueberry was just faintly sweet and I’m already imagining how scrumptious it will be served with a salty feta cheese salad.

After walking along the beach and sipping on delicious wine, I was starving for some real food.

I think I was still on the “salty kick” after having filled my head with feta cheese, and a lobster roll with a side of coleslaw sounded exactly right.  It was.  Exactly right.

The last day in Canada went by in a flash.  Zwurp.  And it was gone.  Just like that.

Vacation has a way of doing this, doesn’t it?

At least we were able to fit in one good long kayaking trip on the water outside our cottage, now that the warmer weather decided to stick around!

Such fun! 😀

Oh, Canada, I will miss you.

This was the last day of our vacation, and then we packed up and came home.  It was sad to go.  I literally felt as if I was saying goodbye to my home, friends and family.  It was lovely being with relatives that I hardly ever see, and learning more about the place where my Pepere grew up.  Where my Dad spent many summers as a kid.  And where I myself have a plethora of memories from way back when.

Sigh.

Oh Canada.  I will miss you.  And hopefully I will return soon. 😀

QUESTION: Have you ever gone on a wine tasting?  

5 comments on “Canada: The Last 3 Days

  1. Awesome pics! I especially love this one – there is something about it that makes me feel the atmosphere there!
    I don’t drink wine, so I’ve never been on a wine tasting. I’d like to go on a food testing sometimes, though. 😉 Glad you enjoyed your vacation!

  2. kristisn says:

    That looks like the best place to have a vacation. It looks so peaceful.

  3. Nicole says:

    Sounds like SO much fun!!!! And love the pics! 🙂

  4. Stunning photos!! I’ve never been out east and this just strengthened my desire to make a trip there sooooon.

    I particularly like the sign – what sage advice.

Leave a Reply

