Canada: Day 3

We each had some sort of agenda on vacation.

Visiting with relatives.  Going to the beach.  Kayaking.  Relaxing and reading.  Eating too many maple cookies (oops, did I just say that out loud?)

High on the list of priorities for my dad was visiting the place where his grandparents once lived (and now his uncle.)  He spent most of his summers here as a kid, so the place was brimming with memories.

And then we sat right down on the wide open lawn and we feasted on bakery fresh, fluffy white rolls smothered in peanut butter, while sipping on cans of chilled diet coke.

I am in love with Canadian bread.

(Really now, what am I NOT in love with in Canada???)

Driving on, we found ourselves back in Richibucto, where we stretched out by walking across a small boardwalk.

The day was unusually warm, considering we were expecting 60/70 degree temperatures for the rest of the week.

So—yes, of course!—we took advantage of it with dishes of ice cream.

And then I found myself feeling unusually chilled once I was back at the cottage, so I balanced it all out with a bowl of homemade lentil & sweet potato stew and a hunk of toasted bread and butter.

The day was pretty laid back.  Pretty simple.

But it ended with a bang.  Literally.

Thankfully, most of the storm headed further on past our cottage, but it was frightening just the same (I will never make it as a storm chaser!)

Tomorrow’s plans: Four wheeling and going for a walk deep (deep!) in the woods of my great uncle’s camp!

QUESTION: Do you live in the same place as you did growing up?  Do you plan on having it stay that way?  If you’ve moved away, do you ever plan on going back?

10 comments on “Canada: Day 3

  1. did you enjoy kayaking? I’ve only done it once, in Seattle, kayaking in Lake Union with my family. my shoulders hurt so bad! but it was way fun.

    I actually have not lived in the same place that I grew up in. I was born in another country (the Philippines) and grew up in the Dallas area. Now I live in the college town that I moved to in 2002. My husband and I love living in a college town, for the most part! 🙂

  2. Caitlyn says:

    All this talk of good Canadian bread makes me want to take a road trip to Canada and buy some!

    The picture of you eating the bread is adorable! The scenery is breathtaking.

  3. BroccoliHut says:

    I LOVE your purple dress:)
    I live in Raleigh, but I grew up in Birmingham. I have every intention of moving back!

  4. ISNT CANADIAN BREAD THE BEST! Canadian wheat baby 🙂 I may be just a little bit biased tho hehe ❤

  5. also to answer the questions. I live in Victoria B.C. Canada and have lived here my whole life… we still live in the same home i grew up in! I am planning to move out in the late summer/ early fall, but im still going to be in the same city i think for a little bit..then possibly Vancouver or up island.

  6. carlydeal says:

    I just stumbled upon your blog, and since I am Canadian, fell instantly in love with your love for Canada!

    I have moved around BC plenty in my life, and will never, ever move back to my hometown. I’m from a town where people either get out the second they can, or are lifers. I am definitely in the first group! Enjoy your trip, I have yet to get to NB!

Leave a Reply

