Canada: Day 2

It was if I had fallen in love upon first sight.  And then.  I found myself having to say goodbye the very next day.

I didn’t want to leave Fredericton, NB.  It felt like a home away from home.  I felt the deliciousness of the city as I walked my way through it.  A city after my own heart.

But, alas, time marches on.  It was time to pack up and move on.

My breakfast was completely portable.  Plain yogurt with a whole wheat pumpkin raisin muffin, a handful of fresh blueberries and a packet of barney butter.  Nutritious, delicious and easy.

Three more hours in the car and we finally arrived at our cottage in Richibucto, NB.

A toast to a wonderful week!

(Matthew was hungry and was hoping for more than just tea. 😉 )

The very first thing I wanted to do upon my arrival was to scope out the area.  There was a horse barn right down the street from our cottage, and a nice long, private walkway to stretch the legs.

And, best of all, NO HILLS IN SIGHT!

Which was fabulous for running.  We went out for some 4-6 mile runs throughout the week and they felt so much easier than back at home.  I could get used to this. :mrgreen:

We also tested out the paddle boat.  Right away.

We went so fast, I’m pretty sure we broke some sort of paddle boat world record.  Just sayin’. 😉

I indulged my love of Canadian maple leaf and Ginger cookies this past week.

Truth: Sometimes I still crave them.

Double Truth: I’m kicking myself for not stocking up!

I’ll just have to wait until the next time I visit. 😉

The rest of the day was just about relaxing and unwinding from our long trip.

I’m pretty sure that this is the best “television show” I have ever watched.  The clouds were magnificent.  Absolutely stunning.  And each night they were slightly different in size and color.

As the day began to darken, we lit up a fire.

We shared stories and laughed and joked.

And then we made some s’mores.

Heaven.

Yes.  It was tough leaving Fredericton.

But Richibucto was deliciously beautiful and brimming with delight surprises as well.

Canada, I love you.

QUESTION: Have you ever traveled out of your home country?  Where did you go?

8 comments on “Canada: Day 2

  1. Caitlyn says:

    No hills, beautiful scenery, breathtaking sunset, tasty little maple cookies…I’ll take it! I can see why you fell in love!

  2. BroccoliHut says:

    You’ve got me craving s’mores now!

  3. Katie says:

    Unbelievable pictures! You need to make a book of all that gorgeous photography and beautiful memories!

  4. katie says:

    Ahhh so great to hear from you! LOVE your pics and your lay out and everything! That looks like so so much fun!

Leave a Reply

