on the road again.

I was one busy girl today!

I spent the better part of my afternoon making use of any and all foods that might potentially go bad in the fridge while we’re away on vacation.  There was one half of a butternut squash, which I roasted into a state of absolute caramelization.  The cantaloupe was cut up, the summer squash and onions were sauteed and drizzled with a light pear vinaigrette, some brown rice was cooked for tonight’s dinner, and the basil from my herb garden was turned into a pesto-styled hummus for tomorrow’s lunches on the go.

And.  Lastly. The whole wheat pumpkin raisin muffins.  Those were just because.  I think I’ll pull them out for Sunday morning’s breakfast.

After this was all finished up, I went to work on putting together my snack bucket, which is a compilation of nut butters, calming teas (caffeine free of course!) granola bars, honey, amazing meal (in case I crave some nutrients!) and other such necessities.

By the time night rolled around, I realized that I was tired but hungry.

I must be on a “taco” kick, because I went with a vegetarian taco salad tonight!

The mix was messy, not overly spicy and drenched with flavor.

I topped it all off with a dab of greek yogurt, some tortilla chips and a handful of chopped cilantro.  It was light and cool and the most perfect dinner to unwind with after a long day of cooking and packing.

Tomorrow I’ll be driving through Canada!  I’m going to try and get a good nights sleep tonight, as my body seems to require a little extra sleep without that caffeine boost that its been used to (speaking of which, I’ve recently discovered that I am indeed a nap person!)

I’ll see you when I get back! 😀

Vegetarian Taco Salad–recipe slightly modified from the original version as seen on EatingWell.com.

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh corn kernels or frozen, thawed
  • 4 large tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked long-grain brown rice
  • 1 15-ounce can black, kidney or pinto beans, rinsed
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/3 cup prepared salsa
  • 2 cups shredded iceberg or romaine lettuce
  • 1 cup shredded pepper Jack cheese
  • 2 1/2 cups coarsely crumbled tortilla chips
  • Lime wedges for garnish

PREPARATION

  1. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add onion and corn; cook, stirring, until the onion begins to brown, about 5 minutes. Coarsely chop 1 tomato. Add it to the pan along with rice, beans, chili powder, 1 teaspoon oregano and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Cook, stirring frequently, until the tomato cooks down, about 5 minutes. Let cool slightly.
  2. Coarsely chop the remaining 3 tomatoes. Combine with cilantro, salsa and the remaining 1/2 teaspoon oregano in a medium bowl.
  3. Toss lettuce in a large bowl with the bean mixture, half the fresh salsa and 2/3 cup cheese. Serve sprinkled with tortilla chips and the remaining cheese, passing lime wedges and the remaining fresh salsa at the table.
QUESTION: Do you usually pack lunches and snacks for road trips?  What are some of your favorites?
8 comments on “on the road again.

  1. YUM that salad is perfect- got the best textures in it. and i always pack muffins on road trips. these look great! ❤

  2. BroccoliHut says:

    I almost always pack meals for flights, and I usually bring a cooler full of goodies for car rides. My favorites: hummus & pretzels, baby carrots, freeze-dried fruit snacks (convenient for driving), and trail mix.

  3. Katie says:

    Mmm, that taco salad looks unbelievably good. I adore the crunch of tortilla chips on my salad, too. I pack so many snacks on car trips…not really “meals” just a lot of different munchies.

  4. Nicole says:

    Have FUN!!! 🙂 And can’t wait t try that taco recipe!

  5. The salad looks healthy and delicious. the muffin, perfect with coffee or tea. Mmmm…food!

  6. Wow you take such fantastic photos! I’ve just started my own blog and I got a camera fairly recently which I’ve been having great fun but my photos don’t come close to yours :-P. Love your blog by the way!

  7. Bee says:

    Love love taco salad. I love tortillas as croutons!

Leave a Reply

