Kicking The Caffeine (once again)

“Day One” of cutting back on caffeine hasn’t been very kind to me.

It started out well enough.  I remembered all of the important things, such as breakfast and showering and brushing my teeth.  But then the afternoon came along and I realized that I really wanted a latte.  As in, right now—this very moment!  Make that a double shot espresso, please.

My head started to feel like a giant, over-sized lump.  And when it came time to sit down and study, I ended up sleeping for an hour on the couch instead.  Sad, but true.

You should know that this was not one of my proudest moments.  But in the end, this will all be well worth it (remind me of this fact tomorrow, okay?)  I treasure my weekend cups of coffee.  I do!  I refuse to ever give them up, as I don’t see the need.

But I absolutely detest that feeling of needing something every morning, regardless of whether or not my tastebuds agree.  And so, the caffeine is going to be out of my life for the next several days.  But back on Saturday.  Of course!  I can’t imagine doing the crosswords without a cup of coffee for company.  Can you?

Anyways.  Tonight, after my hour long study session snooze, I felt quite refreshed and ready for dinner.

On the menu: Sesame-Honey Tempeh Quinoa Bowl

This came together in under 30 minutes and required such little brain power that I wondered if I was still sleeping.  And the savory sauce made me want to curl up with the steamy white bowl and a pair of chopsticks and just call it a day.

“Day One” of kicking the caffeine was a little rough.  But it ended on a very nice, a very balanced note.  And on that note, I think it is time for bed.

(p.s. I may lean towards drinking less caffeine on a daily basis, but I shall never (ever!) give up my ice-cream!!  Especially if it involves a special homemade, local creamery, with fudge, glorious chunks of coconut and big hunks of chopped almonds.  Heaven. On. A. Spoon!)

Sesame-Honey Tempeh and Quinoa Bowl—slightly modified from the original version as seen on EatingWell.com

This recipe serves about 4 people.  Three, if you’re feeling especially hungry.  I recommend doubling up and serving out leftovers for lunch the following day!

QUINOA & CARROT SLAW

  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 3/4 cup quinoa, rinsed or toasted
  • 2 cups grated carrots (about 3 large)
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon reduced-sodium soy sauce

SESAME-HONEY TEMPEH

  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 2 8-ounce packages tempeh, crumbled into bite-size pieces
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 2 scallions, sliced

PREPARATION

  1. To prepare quinoa: Bring 1 1/2 cups water to a boil in a small saucepan. Add quinoa and return to a boil. Reduce to a low simmer, cover and cook until the water is absorbed, 10 to 14 minutes. Uncover and let stand.
  2. To prepare carrot slaw: Meanwhile, combine carrots, rice vinegar, sesame seeds, 1 tablespoon oil and 1 tablespoon soy sauce in a medium bowl. Set aside.
  3. To prepare tempeh: Heat 1 tablespoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add tempeh and cook, stirring frequently, until beginning to brown, 7 to 9 minutes.
  4. Combine honey, 3 tablespoons soy sauce, 2 tablespoons water and cornstarch in a small bowl. Add to the pan and cook, stirring, until the sauce has thickened and coats the tempeh, about 1 minute.
  5. Divide the quinoa among 4 bowls and top each with 1/2 cup carrot slaw and 3/4 cup tempeh mixture. Sprinkle with scallions.  ENJOY!

QUESTION: Do you drink caffeinated beverages on a daily basis?  As a special treat?  Are you addicted like me, and have you ever tried to quit or cut back?  

11 comments on “Kicking The Caffeine (once again)

  1. Evan says:

    Power to you, girl! I could never give up caffeine, especially since my parents have a Jura espresso/coffee machine that makes the perfect cup. Though, if you bribed me with extra ice cream, I could give it a try 🙂

    I love your taste in ice cream, too! Anything coconut, almond, chocolate, or coffee (it doesn’t count if it’s in ice cream) is a-OK with me!

  2. BroccoliHut says:

    I like your philosophy on ice cream–there’s always room for ice cream!!

  3. Nicole says:

    I’ve had to give up soda… which means Dt. Coke for sure. And I can only drink coffee once in awhile, because my stomache doesn’t like it. So my head has been feeling like a giant lump lately too. Ha, ha. 🙂

  4. Nicole says:

    Oh, and love the new header!! Too cute! 🙂

  5. Katie says:

    I gave up coffee while I was pregnant, and didn’t seem to notice it’s effect…but now I’m going on one cup a day and loving it – I think I like the routine of the morning java more than the actual coffee.

  6. Oh caffeine…well, try going off Exedrin when you’ve taken 4 tabs a day for the last 2 years. Brutal. Ick. Now to go find some coffee….:)

  7. This blog gives us the healthy information on caffeine; it provides us many tips to make variety of healthy dishes with it.

  8. Ann says:

    Thanks for sharing.

    My mom will love your recipes 🙂

    Blessings
    ann

Leave a Reply

