Easy As Pie.

It’s probably a good idea to test, tweak and twiddle with recipes before making that final dessert for large family gatherings.  Especially if you’re the main proprietor for making the dessert.

But.  Alas.  Such a good idea never crossed my mind.  And so, with full force and gusto, I decided to experiment.

Thankfully for me (for everyone!) the dessert started with a crumbly graham cracker crust.  No fail.  I think I could make a graham cracker crust with my eyes closed.  Maybe not.  But I do know for sure that I could eat  a hot graham cracker crusts—just like that!—with a dab of whipped cream.  Butter, graham crackers, sugar.  Love.

Anyways, since I didn’t plan on feeding the family graham cracker crust alone, I took the chocolate route.  Another no fail thing in my mind.

This is perhaps the easiest pie you will make all season, as it involves just the 8 minutes of cooking time for the crust!

While the crust sends off its heavenly kitchen aromas, you will be busy (a) blending the rest of the ingredients in a blender and (b) melting chocolate chips in the double boiler.

Resist stirring those chocolate chips until they’re really beginning to melt.  This will prevent any clumping or that unwanted icky (waxy!) coating on top.  Then stir, stir, stir like a mad woman (or man)!!

All the ingredients come together one last time in the blender for a real quick zwuuurp.

Push down the sides as you go and resist licking the spoon.

Or don’t.

I won’t tell.

Then pop that easy peasy pie in the fridge for at least a few hours (preferably overnight,) and top with freshly made whipped cream.

Then, watch your fudgy chocolate pie disappear before your very eyes.

Fudgy Chocolate Pie

Tofu lends the most creamy, smooth texture to this pie, which is densely rich and creamy.  Serve with fresh berries and/or whipped cream to offset this chocolaty richness.  For you die hard chocolate lovers (you know who you are,) drizzle with hot fudge, top with some chopped almonds and a cherry, and serve with a chilled glass of milk.

  • 1 prepared graham cracker crust (combine 15 graham squares, 2 Tbsp. sugar and 4 Tbsp. melted butter….pat down into 9 inch pie pan and bake at 350 for 7-8 minutes…let cool)
  • 1 15-oz soft tofu
  • 2 Tbsp. crushed flax
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 16-oz. bag of semisweet or milk chocolate morsels (I like ghirardelli chocolate for this recipe)
  1. In a double boiler, melt chocolate until smooth and creamy.
  2. Meanwhile, blend together tofu, flax and vanilla extract until smooth and creamy.
  3. Combine chocolate with mixture.  Mix well.
  4. Place in prepared crust and refrigerate overnight.  Enjoy the following day with freshly made whipping cream.

QUESTION: Do you prefer fruity pies?  Chocolate?  Lemon?  I’m a chocolate girl from head to toe.  But I do love a good lemon meringue or key lime pie now and then! 😀

10 comments on “Easy As Pie.

  1. I’m all about rich pies, although I do love a good apple.

    This looks crazy good! Great idea with the tofu, friend!

  2. This pie looks great! My mom makes a lot of “pudding pies,” except she takes the even quicker route…store-bought crusts and jello- pudding 😛 I keep wanting to make her a “real” one, though. I bet the graham cracker crust would be perfect!!

  3. Nicole says:

    Ha! I knew this pie had soy in it, although I thought it was chocolate soy milk. My taste buds never fail me… 😉 But those nervous of tofu (a.k.a. my hubby) did not notice this, so this pie was most definitely a success. And I loved it too. Delicious!

  4. Awesome!! That recipe looks so so simple. I’m going to have to try it sometime.

  5. Evan says:

    Holy amazing! I’m totally a believer in the power of tofu in chocolate desserts. Chocolate aficionado John Scharffenberger swears by it, too! 🙂 I love your recipes, Sarah. You cook such beautiful, simple but elegant, and delicious looking food.

  6. BroccoliHut says:

    I’ve recently gotten into making tarts, both sweet and savory. I most recently made an apricot tart!

  7. Emily says:

    That pie looks really good! And easy!!!

  8. Oooh I’ve been wanting to try making a tofu chocolate pie! Looks like a wonderful summer dessert.

    I’m definitely a fruit pie kinda girl (my favourite is probably raspberry peach or strawberry rhubarb) but I’m certainly not averse to the occasional slice of key lime or coconut cream pie 🙂

  9. That looks soooo good. Thanks for the tip on melting chocolate, now I know why I always have troubles with it!

Leave a Reply

