a normal kind of July 4th

July 4th.

I always forget about this one specific day until it decides to creep up on me (something to do with it being the beginning of a new month, I think!)  From behind and out of nowhere, July 4th makes itself known.  Not in a harsh, “here I am, what are you going to do about it?” sort of way.  But more of a “here I am…enjoy me” kind of thing.

And.  You know what?  This makes me downright happy.

Because, truth be told, I kind of like surprises.

Like being fed key lime pie as soon as Nicole walks through the door.  She has this flare about her.  This poppy nature that exuberates a mixture of Paula Deene meets Rachel Ray meets Ina Garten meets Giada.  It’s true.  You’d totally understand if you met her.  And you’d totally be her best friend.

And you’d totally eat her key lime pie as she handed you a forkful, told you about all the ingredients, how it was made, and how it was “oh so easy.”

The rest of the spread came later (the pie was just a taste and a tease!)

The corn was grilled, as were the burgers and the whole wheat buns (black bean burgers for Nicole and I, which turned out quite yummy…recipe soon!)

I don’t know what it is about picnic tables and the very activity of shucking corn, but it makes me downright happy.  This is becoming a trend, I think, this being happy thing.  A perfectly fine trend which—if I have anything to do with it—will never go out of style.

Maybe, perhaps, this was July 4th’s doing.

Or, maybe it’s the fact that everything seemed so downright normal this afternoon.  Like it’s every day that we all come together to eat corn on the cob and potato salad and things like that.  Normal to shoo away the flies that want in on the goods.  Normal to share stories of traveling and Canada and life.  Normal to laugh at everything, sigh at nothing.  Normal to feel that the day will last forever.  Normal.

Absolutely, completely, 100% normal.  Just another day.

(As an aside, I really want to gush and tell you all about dessert, because I’m rather proud of this fudgy creation.)

BUT!

Why is there always a “but”?

BUT, I think to do the pie justice, I will simply have to wait and share all the deets in a future post.  Now it’s time for an afternoon walk…

Dad tried to take a picture of us pretending to walk, acting all serious with intent.

But.  Well.  This is us being serious.

Very serious.

Sillies!

Once again, July 4th snuck up on me.

Once again, my heart is smiling.

Happy July 4th!!! 😀

QUESTION: How did you celebrate July 4th?

4 comments on “a normal kind of July 4th

  1. Nicole says:

    Awww, LOVE the pictures… especially the one of me feeding you pie! 🙂

  2. Looks like you guys had an amazing 4th! I’m oober jealous of the pies!

  3. Isn’t family time wonderful? 🙂 We celebrated the 4th by actually celebrating the holiday AND my birthday early. My immediate family, plus some aunts, uncles and cousins all came over and we had a big Filipino potluck. Lots of conversation, loud laughter and all around good time. When everyone was gone, my husband and I just stayed at home to relax since we’d had a full day, so no fireworks for us this year. Have a great week!

  4. BroccoliHut says:

    We did the usual–hit up the fireworks display and went out for ice cream afterward!

Leave a Reply

