June’s Leftovers.

Do you know what I love about fresh new months?

Fresh new ideas and resolutions.  New vegetables and farmers markets.  New places to see, new plans to be made.  New, new, NEW!

However, yesterday was still June.  There were still some loose ends that needed tying before I could kiss the month goodbye, so long.  Leftovers to be finished before any brand new things could arrive.

Yes.  And vegetables to be stir fried.  Leftover quinoa to be eaten.

Quinoa, just like rice, can be frozen quite nicely.  Which is why I most always double the batch and pop one in the freezer.  It takes about 3 minutes to reheat it in the microwave, which is perfect for late nights, crazy days, or for that last dinner in June.

This was the easiest meal of the week (not counting, of course, that bowl of cereal which impostered itself as dinner a couple of nights ago.)

I simply heated a pan with a drizzle of olive oil, added the last of the veggie drawer—carrots, asparagus, zucchini, peppers and onions, and topped it all off with one of my most favorite sauce recipes.

The sunflower seeds added just a touch of fun.  Just a touch of crunch.

There.  The veggie drawer is empty.  The remaining quinoa has been eaten.

Goodbye, June and Hello, July!

(p.s. The kitties are doing well!  Today is the last day I’ll be spending with them, as their ‘parents’ are coming home tonight.  I think Stitch knows something about this, because he’s been nothing short of Mr. LoveBug lately, with his head butting and meowing and acting all silly with excitement.)

(Highstreet, on the other hand, continues to act all regal and sophisticated.  Until a rope passes in front of him, which is when he unleashes his inner jaguar.)

Off for a run.  And then off to fit some studying time in!  It’s always nice a feeling, to start a new month off on the right foot.

Hot And Sour Sauce

Combine: 6 Tbsp. vinegar, 1/4 c. low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth, 1/4 cup water, 2 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce, 1 Tbsp. Asian chili sauce, 2 tsp sugar, 2 tsp cornstarch, 1 tsp sesame oil.

QUESTION: What are you most looking forward to in July?

10 comments on “June’s Leftovers.

  1. Katherina says:

    YES. I love that you admit to eating cereal for dinner sometimes – I totally did that last night. Also I never make extra quinoa, that’d probably make my life a lot easier. Thanks for the tip 🙂 What’s your favorite sauce recipe?

  2. Lisa Fine says:

    I love easy dinners like that.

    We have a game in our house called “using it up”, where we try to make dinner out of leftovers before making something new. It’s pretty successful, and is a great way to use up the vegetables and fruits that need to get eaten.

  3. Mmm, quinoa stir-fry, looks great! I’m looking forward to July for several reasons – 1) visiting a good friend of mine in OKC, 2) running a 5k on Monday & 3) my birthday!

  4. Katherina says:

    Ignore my comment 😛 I scrolled back up to the mention of the sauce without looking at the italics in the bottom!

  5. Katie says:

    Leftovers are my favorite things ever. They make for such quick meals! I’m looking forward to spending more time with my family this month!

  6. Nicole says:

    Tonight, it’ll be leftovers at my house. 🙂 Probably pasta!!! (I’m appreciating food so much more now that I can eat again). Ha, ha. And thanks again for taking such good care of the kitties!!! You’ll have to come visit them soon, because I have a feeling that they’ll miss you. 🙂

  7. Cait's Plate says:

    Mmm – that dish looks amazing. I’m super excited for ice cream cones, swimming and bike rides in July! Can’t believe June is already behind us, so crazy!

  8. BroccoliHut says:

    Yum, yum! I always get a craving for quinoa when I read your posts!

  9. I’ve never thought to freeze a cooked grain before. Such a good idea! I am all about quick meals lately.

Leave a Reply

