sometimes it’s okay to tweak.

Well.  I said it would never–ever!–be done.  But yesterday I threw on my apron, I grabbed some bowls and I picked up a whisk and…I did it.

It was a rainy Sunday, and that is my excuse.  Yes.  I took my most favorite pumpkin muffin recipe and I closed my eyes and I hoped for the best and then I…tweaked it.

This is scary territory, people.  I’ll be the first to say, “you don’t fix what isn’t broken.”

(This is especially true for running sneakers, by the way.)

But I wanted my favorite pumpkin muffin to have just a little less sugar.  And I didn’t want it to be highly noticeable with a dry, boring interior, because—really now!—what’s the point in that?

 I think this new, updated version is a real keeper.  I love that it has been reduced in sugar while still remaining sweet and fluffy and absolutely perfect.  Yes.  Lesson learned.  Sometimes it’s okay to tweak an already great thing. 

 

(Reduced-Sugar) Whole Wheat Pumpkin Raisin Muffins

Serve these healthy, hearty, spice filled muffins for breakfast with a dish of yogurt, a fruit and some added walnuts or almonds on the side.  OR, serve it with your morning smoothie.  Or simply take it with you for an on-the-go meal.  My freezer will always be stocked with a batch of these pumpkin muffins.  ENJOY! 😀

  • 1 – 2/3 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c. canned pumpkin
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/4 c. canola or olive oil
  • 1/2 c. raisins
  • 1/2 c. walnuts (optional)
  1. Combine dry ingredients (up to and including salt.)
  2. Combine wet ingredients from pumpkin up to oil.
  3. Stir dry ingredients with wet ingredients just until moistened (do not overmix.)
  4. Fold in raisins and walnuts with rubber spatula.
  5. Spoon into 12 sprayed muffin cups.  Bake at 350 for 20-23 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  6. Cool for 10 minutes.  Remove and place on wire rack.  Cool completely.
QUESTION: Do you readily tweak your favorite recipes or do you leave them just as is?
12 comments on “sometimes it’s okay to tweak.

  1. Ugh, my biggest “problem” is just leaving stuff a lone! I am always wanting to try something new when I’m baking. On the other hand, if I find a meal combo that I love, I can sometimes get so obsessed that yes, I hate tweaking them! But hey…sometimes having to change something brings about pleasant surprise, just like you discovered with these muffins 🙂

  2. Wow- those look good!! Pumpkin’s my favorite, and I think all my recipes change a bit each time- sometimes for the better and sometimes for the worse

  3. I was just thinking about making some pumpkin muffins! I’ll have to bookmark this recipe. Thanks friend!

  4. Only 1/4 c. sugar?? That’s awesome.
    Bookmarked!

  5. Sheila says:

    I have been known to tweak a recipe, and hope for the best:))

  6. oooh I miss pumpkin….I have one lonely can in my pantry leftover from Fall…and now I might have to crack and use it! 🙂

  7. BroccoliHut says:

    I am a total tweaker, or, “recipe rebel” if you will. However, when it comes to my Mom’s recipes, I never mess with the measurements–I know her recipe always tastes best!

  8. Looks like an excellent recipe!

    Pumpkin muffins are one of my favourite baked goods to make, and I’m constantly tweaking my “go-to” recipe. I can’t help it, there are so many possibilities (applesauce, squash, molasses, maple syrup, dried cranberries, carob chips, nuts…).

  9. Nicole says:

    I tweak recipes all the time… although I rarely change muffin recipes. I’ll let you do that and then just make your tweaked versions! Ha, ha. 🙂

  10. dottylizzy says:

    Awwww! Those look so YUMMY!!! 😀 I am so going to try this recipes out, just as soon as I can get hold of some pumpkin … a little tricky in England whn it’s not October! 🙂

    Wahoo for you!! I (mostly) follow baking recipes, but when it comes to the main meals … I genuinely can’y remember the last time I follwed the instructions item by item – something always gets changed and tweaked!! In fact, when posting about my own meals, I find it a challange, becuase I end up cooking by what looks/tastes right … no definite quantities … ooops!! 😛

    Is there a time whe pumpkin is not available in the stores in the US? What do you use then?

    Love you blog!! 😀

    • Thank you!! 😀

      Pumpkin has been readily available lately, and I haven’t had to resort to searching through the back of the shelves yet. 😉 Although, that being said, it’s only the organic pumpkin for sale, which means high prices. I try to use it sparingly. i’ll bet these might be tasty with sweet potato or butternut squash though, if that’s more available in England?

  11. […] your morning muffin with a whole wheat pumpkin raisin muffin. […]

Leave a Reply

