K is for Kale. L is for Love.

This may come across as a little awry.  A little off.  But.  Well.  It simply must be said.

I think, maybe, I might possibly–who knows?–be in love with kale.

The idea came to me as I sat on my porch, feeling the warmth of summer creep up by the hour.  Any last chills from the morning quickly dissipated, as the sun rose higher and higher.  Humidity turned into a comfortably dry warmth, and only the lingering shady spots underneath the trees told the tale of a former rain storm.

And there I sat.  On the porch, basking in the sun.  Alone and completely at home, with a bowl of raw kale salad sitting in my lap.

I used to be of the opinion that kale was best served with something saucy, as to cover any unwelcome bitter flavors.  But my tastebuds changed their mind, as they often do, and now I am in love with kale.  It was bound to happen, really.  You don’t spend that much time with something unless there’s a bright, flavorful future there.  Right?

There is no sauce to this recipe.  Nor bitter flavors either, for that matter.  Only a creamy rubbing of avocado with a spritz of fresh lemon.  And some walnuts and tomatoes and sweet vidalia.

If I am not alone—if you too love kale—then you will simply love this recipe.  If you’ve never (ever) before tried kale, or if you have tried kale and thought it to be the most boring vegetable in the world, then wait until next week and I’ll share with you your first go-to recipe, so that you can introduce this forgiving green into your life.

I do have to warn you though.  Love happens.

Raw Kale Salad

(Serves 2)

This recipe is raw, vegan and gluten free.  It’s also delicious.  Feel free to add sauteed tofu, chicken, or your other favorite protein source to make it a more well rounded, satisfying meal.  I ate mine on the side of some baked beans.  No need for fancy when you’re striving for delicious. 😉

  • 1 head of kale, rinsed and patted dry
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/2-1 tomato, diced
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1/4 vidalia or other sweet onion, diced
  • spritz of lemon (about 1/4 of a fresh)
  • 1/4 cup walnuts (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. In a large bowl, use your hands to smush and smash avocado together with the kale.  Add tomato, carrot, onions, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  Stir well.  Toss in walnuts if using.
  2. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed.  Refrigerate for 1 or more hours and serve.  OR, if you are impatient like me, enjoy immediately.

QUESTION: What is your favorite GREEN vegetable?

12 comments on “K is for Kale. L is for Love.

  1. Evan Thomas says:

    I love kale. I’ll eat it any time I can! I don’t understand people who think it tastes too “green” for them. Then again, I can’t stand arugala because that’s too much for me.

  2. YAY, greens! I love leafy greens like spinach and chard, but I think my favourite is broccoli.

    What kinds of things are you growing in your garden? I’m interning on a produce farm this summer so I’ve started becoming very curious about people’s gardens 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      That sounds like such a great experience! 😀 I’m growing beets, tomatoes, hot peppers, bell peppers, cucumbers, cilantro, basil, thyme, oregano, and rosemary. The beets and the herbs are my favorite. 😀

  3. Katie says:

    Mmm, kale. I want to try this salad – so simple and delicious. I’m also partial to spinach.

  4. I love kale salads! Have you ever made kale chips (takes about 10 mins) in the oven?

  5. Nicole says:

    I like kale chips… But I don’t have a loving relationship with kale yet. 🙂

  6. I’m following you and getting on the kale is for lovers bandwagon. Kale chips or bust 🙂

  7. Holly says:

    sarah! somehow, i didn’t change my RSS feed for you in my google reader and was SO confused about why there wasn’t new posts from you. turns out, i am an idiot 🙂 in other words, i am totally catching up on the blog, but you are too adorable as always. LOVE the m+m cupcakes, that mediterranean salad and your lovely style of eating! hope you have a great (almost) weekend!!!

  8. Zephyr says:

    I’m starting to eat kale, but right now I really like it sauteed. I find it similar to collards in that I need to chop it very fine in order to enjoy it since it’s such a thick & tough green! Do you just savor the extra chews, or is there a trick to making kale more salad friendly?

    • I think over time, I’ve just grown to love the extra chew factor!! The lemon juice really helps to tenderize it, especially if you let it sit overnight. And the avocado adds a nice creamy touch (no rough green texture going on!)

      Sauteed kale is very nice too, though! 😀

  9. You know…I never eat kale raw. I don’t know why I don’t. I think I would LOVE your salad.

    Fav green veggies? Hmmm. All the leafy ones. Spinach, kale, swiss chard, collard greens…yum. yum. yum.

Leave a Reply

