a bowl of warm weather soup.

Through the heat of summer, I will eat my weight in leafy salads.  I will also eat my weight in vegetable soups.

Yes.  Soups!

Soups that are served piping hot in the winter are usually versatile enough to be served chilled during the warmer days of summer.

If the idea of chilled soup weirds you out just a little, then I recommend you start with a basic, chunky, minestrone soup.  Filled to the brim with bright, summery vegetables.

(I also recommend that you stock your freezer full of individual servings of this soup, as it will disappear quickly!!)

Since we’re on the topic of recommendations, can I just throw one more out there?

Okay.

I recommend serving this soup with either a grilled cheese sandwich, dunking it into the tomato based broth as you go. Or, serve with sweet potato chips for that delightful, crunchy, sweet factor.  C-R-U-N-C-H.

Yes.  I eat many, many salads in the summer.  I also eat lots and lots of vegetable soups.  Cold, chilly soups that cool me down and fill me up.

It’s like summer.  Summer in a bowl.

Garden Minestrone Soup

(serves 8)

Serve hot in the winter and chilled in the summer!

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 2 tsp fresh oregano
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 cups chopped yellow squash
  • 3 cups chopped zucchini
  • 1 cup chopped carrot
  • 1 cup fresh corn kernels (or frozen)
  • 4 cups chopped tomato, divided
  • 3 (14 oz) cans fat-free, low sodium chicken or vegetable broth, divided
  • 1/2 cup barley
  • 1 (15.5 oz0 can white beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (6oz) package fresh baby spinach
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  1. Heat oil in a dutch oven over medium-high heat.  Add onion to pan; saute 3 minutes or until softened.  Add oregano and garlic, saute 1 minute.  Stir in squash, zucchini, carrot and corn; saute 5 minutes or until veggies are tender.  Remove from heat.
  2. Place 3 cups tomato and 1 can broth in a blender; process until smooth.  Add tomato mixture to pan; return pan to heat.  Stir in remaining 1 cup tomato and remaining 2 cans broth; bring mixture to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes.
  3. Add barley and beans to pan; cook 10 minutes or until barley is tender, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat.  Stir in spinach, salt and 1/2 tsp pepper.  Serve and enjoy!
QUESTION: What are some of your favorite warm weather eats?

8 comments on “a bowl of warm weather soup.

  1. Sara says:

    This soup looks amazing! I’ll definitely be fixing this sometime in the very near future. I’m all about fresh fruit in the summer…I’ll eat my body weight in watermelon, cantaloupe, peaches, strawberries, etc.

  2. Bee says:

    Mmm this looks lovely, tasty, and summery! I tend to stray from soups in the summer, but I think this one just might work 😉

  3. Katie says:

    What a great idea! I’ve had gazpacho, but never thought to just chill my favorite veggie soup in the summertime.

  4. Chilled vegetable soup sounds like a GREAT idea for summer! This is perfect inspiration for me as I’m working on an organic farm this summer and therefore have access to plenty of fresh veggies 🙂

    PS. I love the new blog name (I’m a bit late on this…haha).

  5. Nicole says:

    LOVE sweet potato chips!!! They’re actually quite tasty with laughing cow cheese spread on them as well. 🙂

  6. Simply Life says:

    oh that soup looks delicious!

  7. I LOVE soup but never thought to try a cold soup other than gazpacho. I’m definitely going to give this a go!

  8. Zephyr says:

    I love salads in the summer! Summer is definitely the time to get creative with the salads, methinks. I bet you would like this soup, since you love both kale + soup 😛 http://www.dailygarnish.com/2010/11/kale-and-roasted-vegetable-soup-the-video.html
    I just made it and it is DELICIOUS! I used collards instead of kale and it was still really tasty!

Leave a Reply

