The Flying Onion vs. Mr. Stress

Well.  It happened.

I fought it.  I really did.  You’d be truly proud of me, really.  But still.  It happened.

In a pure moment of weakness, I finally let Mr. Stress get the better of me.

You know exactly what I mean.  That tight feeling up in the chest.  Head swimming, ready to burst.  Tightened shoulders.  The feeling of being nervously energetic and tired all at the same time.

I’m usually pretty good about things like this.  Feelings like that don’t pop up all too often.  But.  This time?  They did.

My new job officially started on Thursday, and I found myself feeling overly flustered with the whole ordeal.  I’m learning three new types of software.  I’m learning what a zip file is (don’t laugh, I had no idea there even was such a thing!)  And I’m calling people to collect dietary data for a nutrition study.  

(Which, in case you didn’t know, I have a major phonephobia.  It’s true!)

I reached my breaking point somewhere around 4 o’clock yesterday.  This is when I realized how silly I was being.  How feeling tight and wound up was doing nothing—absolutely nothing!—for me, except to give me really tight shoulders (and I really can’t afford a massage therapist right now…bummer!)

Sarah, I said to myself.  It’s time you did something about Mr. Stress.  Fight back!

And so, I did.  I dragged myself to the kitchen table and helped (i.e., taste tested and watched) mom frost and bake a batch of cookies.  I indulged in a deep session of yoga flows.  I went for an after dinner walk, just because.  And I counted the hours until I’d be hanging with this gal:

She’s making us smoothies for tomorrow’s shopping trip, which she swears tastes just like the Starbucks Chocolate Banana Vivanno.  This could be a very, very good thing.

(Don’t you worry, I’ll try my best to convince her to share the recipe!)

Sigh.  Yes.  I am stressed.  A little tight.  A little wound up.  A little anxious about starting a brand new job on top of keeping up with my dietetic internship requirements.

But you know what?

I’m okay.  I’m more than okay.  And in two hours, I’ll be shopping with my best gal friend and laughing without a care in the world.  I’m fighting back and it seems to me that Mr. Stress is losing.

QUESTION: How do you usually handle stressful situations?

4 comments on “The Flying Onion vs. Mr. Stress

  1. Sara says:

    Stress is NEVER fun, but it sounds like you’re taking some fun sounding steps to take the pressure off of yourself! And congrats on the new job!! That’s awesome 🙂 I can’t wait to hear more about it!

  2. Hey, it happens even to the best of us! Usually I try not to let stress get to me, but sometimes you just can’t help it. When it happens to me, I go for a walk outside, I listen to music or watch a fluffy, light-hearted movie. And I think ”is this really worth losing my nerves? will I remember this stressful situation several years from now on?” and usually the answer is negative to both questions. 😉

    Congratulations on the new job & good luck! 😀

  3. Wow, this statement “The feeling of being nervously energetic and tired all at the same time” sums up stress perfectly. That’s exactly how I always feel when I get stressed out.

  4. Zephyr says:

    I WISH cookies were a part of my dealing-with-stress routine!! I deal with stress basically by just breathing deep and stepping outside the situation. I work in a restaurant so when it gets really busy and I feel myself start to get stressed out I start speaking slower and moving slower. It forces me to be patient and the customers to be patient; it actually helps a lot!! Congratulations on the new job!!

Leave a Reply

