a couple of cupcake queens.

My sister and I have been talking cupcakes even before they became big and popular and oh-so-in.

I’m talking way back.  Way, way back.

In fact.  I think we were talking cupcakes ever since we learned how to open a tub of Betty Crocker chocolate frosting, smearing the frosting onto my mom’s homemade cupcakes (and onto our fingers…purely accidental, of course!)

I love everything about cupcakes.  Their perfectly sized portion.  Their quirky personality.

The way they can stand alone with such quiet ease and confidence, taking joy in their own unique style.

But it wasn’t until recently that my sister and I came to the conclusion that we wanted more cupcakes in our lives.  As in, at least once a month.

For practice, we said.  Practice so that we can someday be known as a couple of cupcake queens.  Strolling into baby showers, family cookouts, and church gatherings.  With a tray that would make everyone gasp with complete delight.    

And when the gasp happened, we would just smile.  Just a little, you know.  And then we’d respond to the crowds with an, Oh, it’s so incredibly easy.  No, really!  Anyone could do it. 

Yes.  We’ve decided that we need lots and lots of practice.   At least once a month.

(BLOGGING BLOOPER!)

It’s tough work baking and decorating and testing that many cupcakes, but somebody’s got to do it!

And so, today, we officially began our (very serious) cupcake excursion.

We decided to start off on a rather simple note.  You know.  So that anyone—as in “us”—really could make it.

Vanilla cupcakes (which we’re still trying to perfect…recipes to come later on!)

Fudgy chocolate frosting (also still perfecting!)

The frosting was delightfully rich and—oh my word!—tasted like fudge!  

We’re not quite there yet.  You know, with the whole walking into the party with just a couple of small smiles on our faces as people adore our cupcakes thing.

But we did love the entire baking experience (bakers at heart!)  

And we noted our mistakes; the things we want to change for the next time around.

And we laughed.  A lot.  

And then, after all was said and done, we licked our plates clean.

I’d call that a success story.

QUESTION: If you could own any sort of restaurant, bakery, or cafe, what would be your signature item(s)?

13 comments on “a couple of cupcake queens.

  1. Lisa Fine says:

    I think becoming an expert on cupcakes is an excellent idea.

    My tea house [that’s my dream – I’d sell food items too] would have signature muffins and scones. I’d love to make really excellent baked goods, especially blueberry muffins and ginger scones. Mmm.

  2. yay for sister time and cupcakes! I look forward to seeing more of what you girls come up with!

  3. Those look amazing!! 🙂 So fun!

    I’d own a bookstore… a cute little quirky one… but, in this economy it simply wouldn’t work. 😦 Pout!

  4. Kaci says:

    Those look adorable and delicious!! I love how you didn’t spread the frosting over the entire top of the cupcake, but rather left it rustic looking just in the center. 🙂 I also love the kitty tail that snuck into your photo. I have two cats that I adore so I know how nosey cats can be. 😉

  5. Tracey says:

    Cheesecake and Strudel

  6. So awesome–my husband doesn’t like cupcakes so I don’t make them as often as I’d like! Are you going to share the recipe for that one? They look awesome!

    I’d prob do some sort of dessert shop…or a soup and sandwich shop! Lately my hubs has been telling me to open an ice cream shop-he’s love all the homemade ice cream 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      We’ll definitely be sharing future recipes! We just felt that this one could use some tweaking. It’s *almost* there, but not quite. Keep an eye out for future cupcake recipes though…there will be many! 😀

  7. I love baking with my sister. She can be a bit of a Nazi though…she always makes me eat my mistakes. You can tell by our size difference that she makes a lot less mistakes than I do.

  8. sheila says:

    Bread would have to be my signature item.
    Those cupcakes look really goooooood.

  9. janetha says:

    Fun! I want to come bake with you ladies.

  10. Bee says:

    Oohh these look so good! I love how you styled them–so that the colorful cupcake tops were showing around the fudge. That was just for pictures though, right? You HAD to have slathered those suckers with the fudge, it looks too good to not!

Leave a Reply

