“Must Have Been Something I Ate:” Book Giveaway

I’ve never actually hosted a blogger giveaway before.  But Vega recently contacted me to see if I’d be willing to review Peggy Kotsopoulos’s new book, “Must Have Been Something I Ate,” while creating at least one recipe from it, and then (the best part!) offer a copy of the book to one lucky reader.

I said, “sure!”  Of course!!

Honestly, I haven’t read through the entirety of the book yet, but I can already tell you that I like it.  Peggy writes with a spunky personality.  I feel as if I’m talking with a close friend.  A close friend who just so happens to know all of the nitty gritty details about what’s in the food that I’m eating.

I don’t think the book offers a cure all for every single problem that you’ve ever had, nor do I think that it should be looked at in this way.  For example, spinach may be high in vitamin B, which is essential for balancing your mood.  But that doesn’t mean that by eating tons of spinach, you’ll be the happiest person in the world (obviously!)  However, Peggy offers a ton—a ton!—of useful information that’s presented in a way in which it’s easy to understand.  Who knew that sacha inchi seeds contain the highest amount of plant based omega 3 fatty acids?  The book will make you look at food in a whole new light.

Yes.  It’s a fun read.  With a ton of information.  With recipes.  😀

For dinner tonight, I made the Mediterranean Quinoa Salad.

Lots of chunkiness going on here!!   Tomatoes.  Bell peppers.  Cucumbers.  Feta.  Black olives.  

I’m not quite sure how many people this was meant to serve, but I turned it into a “two-some,” saving the leftovers for Monday’s lunch.

The recipe was really quite fabulous, coming together as quickly as the quinoa was cooked (15 minutes.)  It was light, bright and zingy, perfect for summer.  I ate it warm (since I was much too impatient to let it cool,) but I think it would make a great chilled salad addition to the family cookout.

Anyways.

Yes.

There is a book giveaway.  I’ll happily be sending this book to someone, based on a random drawing of numbers.  You have until Monday morning to enter, and then I’ll announce the winner.  Just leave a comment telling me your most memorable kitchen experience and I’ll enter your name in the drawing.  Easy peazy! 😀

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

(Served 2-3)

  • 2 cups cooked white quinoa
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 cup cucumber, diced
  • 1/2 cup black olives, pitted and chopped
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled (optional)
  • 3 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • Pinch fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • Juice of 1/4 lemon
  1. Add all ingredients to a bowl and mix well.  Enjoy! 😀

QUESTION: What is your most memorable kitchen experience?

30 comments on ““Must Have Been Something I Ate:” Book Giveaway

  1. Baking Christmas cookies with my mom!

  2. Sara says:

    What a cool sounding cookbook! The salad looks awesome. My favorite kitchen memory is making Thanksgiving food with my dad – it’s a great bonding experience for the two of us 🙂

  3. Haley N says:

    My most memorable experience was when I made a perfect loaf of bread 🙂

  4. The day I successfully made a lemon sponge cake from scratch. It was such an accomplishment for me!

  5. Bee says:

    Most memorable kitchen experience–melting a bowl in the microwave, oops!

    I’ve been trying to find the perfect quiona recipe… thanks!

  6. Nicole says:

    This recipe sounds delicious! Some of my most favorite kitchen memories are baking with my grandma when I was little.

  7. Meaghan says:

    Most memorable experience- making almond butter! I go through a jar basically every 2 weeks, so this was definitely pretty satisfying for me.

  8. Tonya says:

    Making my first dinner for my dad – Kraft Dinner. Very gourmet – lol. It’s memorable because I followed the instructions word for word, or so I thought. I added 1 Tbsp of salt to the macaroni instead of just salting the boiling water. I still recall the look on his face on the first bite!

  9. Hanna says:

    Baking cookies with my mom!

  10. Katya says:

    a memorable kitchen experience for me was baking my first cake!

  11. Christina says:

    I remember the first meal I cooked for my husband (then boyfriend). It came out awful, but he said he loved it. Luckily my kitchen skills have improved since then 🙂

  12. Most memorable kitchen experience? Baking chocolate chip oatmeal raisin cookies with my mom when I was a little kid 😀 I remember watching her mix the ingredients and then waiting patiently by the oven ’till the cookies came out… Then enjoying a plate of warm cookies and cold milk with my mom 🙂

  13. Emily H says:

    Anytime I’m making dinner with my mom. Love the food, and the conversation that ensues about anything (and food)

  14. Wow, this looks awesome!

    My most memorable is baking with my Mom. 🙂 It always sticks with me!

    lisagoneaussie(at)gmail.com

  15. betsy says:

    I love cooking with my sisters and mom. We all make different things and of course snacked throughout the experience

  16. When my best friend and I make sushi, it’s an hours-long experience, but it’s so rewarding 🙂

  17. Sandi B says:

    One day I was making quesadillas for my Grandson and he looked up at me so sweetly and he said “Grammy you make the best quesadillas in the whole world”.
    Me: do you know why
    Him: No why?
    Me: Because Grammy makes hers with a lot of love.
    Him: yeah, and he paused a moment and then added “and more cheese”.
    I do just love that boy.

  18. Jessica says:

    Attempting to crack eggs when I was four. I missed the bowl and it slid from the countertop into the open silverware drawer. A complete mess 🙂

  19. Erin says:

    My most memorable experience was learning how to make my grandma’s legendary Christmas fruitcake with her!

  20. Tracy says:

    Baking cookies with my sisters!

  21. Kristi says:

    My most memorable kitchen experience… when I dropped my green monster and it went flying all over my kitchen. I was finding green monster for a few days after that.

  22. Jess says:

    Building a Gingerbread TARDIS (http://physikerinknits.blogspot.com/2011/01/gingerbread-tardis.html) with my little sister last Christmas was pretty darn awesome. 😀

  23. Alison says:

    This is my first visit to your new digs and it looks like I’m just in time! The tag line of her book is right up my alley – I’ll never forget figuring out that what I ate was so closely connected to the way I felt. My most memorable kitchen moment would be adding spinach to my smoothies and then realizing how fabulous my runs started to feel right around the same time. Light bulb!

  24. Katie says:

    That quinoa salad looks fantastic!

    I remember making my first batch of chocolate chip cookies by myself. My mom had left the house on a quick errand, and I tried to make cookies while she was gone…there was so much dough everywhere that I remember trying to get my dog to lick it all up before she got home. But, if I remember correctly, the cookies ended up being edible!

  25. I have really fond memories of one summer when my whole family go together in my grandmother’s basement kitchen to make salsa and can it. It was so much fun!

  26. Dulcie says:

    My most memorable kitchen experience was making my mom’s famous apple pie with her by my side. Her warm heart and gentle hands helped me to make an apple pie ALMOST as good as hers.

  27. Sabrina says:

    Baking with my mom, and her letting me lick the bowl! Also, making homemade playdough 🙂

  28. Liz Pollock says:

    I always love any cooking time with someone you really love…best friend (we always hug because food tastes better when made with love), my children (even though when my daughter started cooking herself asked if she actually had to cook the ground beef in order to brown it!), and my husband (who has yet to learn to clean and cook at the same time). And then of course, when my mother (who passed away in March) would make apple pie and let me use the left over dough to put sugar/cinnamon on top and bake it myself. Thanks for your site, it is beautiful and looks yummy…I am making this quinoa salad today!

  29. […] To find this recipe check Sarah’s Blog: https://theflyingonion.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/must-have-been-something-i-ate-book-giveaway/ […]

Leave a Reply

