until tomorrow

I’ve never followed the conventional rules of wisdom on how to eat when feeling nauseated and sick: consume dry, bland foods.

When I had pneumonia, I could only stomach bagel pizza bites.  When I had a terrible ear infection that sent me straight to bed at my Memere’s house, I could only stomach a slice of her hotdog pizza (noticing a pattern here?)

And now, with an appetite still lacking after a nasty stomach virus, all I want is juice and bagels with heaps of cream cheese.

What can I say?  I like my cheese and bread.  And although the plans were to feast up on vegetables, whole grains, fruits and lean protein the week leading up to the race, plans have changed.

Because.  You know.  Life happens.  And I’m kind of just rolling with it.

Tomorrow at 10:00 sharp, I’ll be running through downtown Rockport with my Dad, my brother and 1000 other runners.

Rockport and Gloucester hold so many wonderful memories for me, that it’s only fitting for me to run my very first half marathon here.  I can not *wait!*   

And all these silly obstacles (rainy weather!  hills!  an unexpected stomach virus!)???

They’re just reminders of all the steps and hurdles that it took to get me to the starting line.  And for that, I am very, very thankful.

Thank you all so much for every single encouraging word!  They mean more than you know.  From week 1 to week 16 of training, your words of encouragement and motivation have carried me through.  And some of them have even become my own mantra to carry me up those hills!

Thank you, thank you, and thank you!  😀

Until tomorrow…

~Sarah

But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint,” Isaiah 40:31

12 comments on “until tomorrow

  1. Sara says:

    I read that Bible verse a few weeks ago during my morning devotion time 🙂 It’s an excellent quote, especially to remember during your big race 😀

  2. Becky Sue says:

    You’ll do great! The adrenaline alone will carry you through. Good luck!

  3. Laura says:

    What an inspirational thought: “They’re just reminders of all the steps and hurdles that it took to get me to the starting line. And for that, I am very, very thankful.”

    I so connect with this thought as my third half marathon looms tomorrow morning. I’ve battled allergies for the first time in my life the past two weeks and just know tomorrow’s race is not going to be my best, but, as you put so eloquently “for that, I am very, very thankful.” Thank you for being an inspiration and good luck!

    • Sarah says:

      Laura, you will be great! Best of luck with your half marathon tomorrow! And be sure to let us all know how it went! 😀

  4. Good luck with your race tomorrow! The Lord is with you, each step you take.

  5. kristisn says:

    Good luck tomorrow! I’m sure you will do fabulous!!! You have a great attitude even battling the stomach bug.

  6. Ashlei says:

    Hope you feel better soon!!!

  7. Sandi B says:

    “I Can Do All Things Through Christ Who Strengthens Me”. Philippians 4:13.

    You will do fine. Ü

  8. Such a pretty place to run! But I’m sorry you haven’t been feeling well 😦

  9. Christie says:

    I hope your half marathon went well! I ran mine today too! The weather was pretty awful, but it still went well!

Leave a Reply

