seeing the cup half full

Yesterday, I ate lunch at 3.

Last night, I skipped dinner and missed my night time snack.

This morning, I ate the breakfast of champions.

Oh yes, saltines.  And an orange, just to round it all out.

And then, for lunch, I had a dole strawberry fruit bar.

There is this vicious bug circulating around, making itself known to anyone and everyone who comes in contact with it (don’t worry, as far as I know, it’s not catchy via internet!)

This bug wouldn’t “bug” me so much, if I didn’t have a half marathon to run on Sunday!  However, in spirit of always trying to stay positive, I made a list of some reasons why being sick might be a good thing.  Bear with me.

(1) I could have been attacked by that mean Jack Russell Terrier today on my run.  Imagine running the half marathon with a dog bite!

(2) I could have been sick on Sunday and not today, which would basically mean an automatic forfeit!

(3) I could have been on the brink of getting injured and perhaps taking today off from running (and walking) was just what my body needed.

(4) Mentally, I’ll be well rested and itching to run by Sunday.

(5) Maybe , as with many things in life, this is a blessing in disguise.

Sometimes I need to let out some steam.  Sometimes I get downright mad and upset.  Sometimes I have to throw a tantrum and shout “this just isn’t fair!”

But usually—mostly always—I feel my best when I remember to look at the positive side of things.

QUESTION: Does staying positive come natural to you or do you have to work at it?  I most definitely have to WORK at it!

16 comments on “seeing the cup half full

  1. I was going to say “it comes naturally to me,” then realized that’s not true. It comes naturally to me now, but at the beginning, I had to work at it.

    So, yes, it comes naturally, but it didn’t always! That’s not to say I’m unceasingly positive now, because there are some days where I wake up and can’t seem to do anything right . . . but most days? I seek out the silver lining, whether I realize that’s what I’m doing or not 🙂

    It’s awesome to see someone else’s efforts to look for a silver lining. Good luck on Sunday!

    • Sarah says:

      Good for you, Deborah!! I think everyone has had to work at it at one point or another, and it’s encouraging to hear that you seek out that silver lining. Awesome! 😀

  2. Caroline says:

    You’ve done the training, your body is ready. Take the time to get over the bug. Remember this is your rest week anyway….consider this an enforced taper. Hopefully by Saturday you’ll be feeling much better and ready to fuel. It’s going to be a great run.

    Yeah, staying positive can often take a whole lot of effort. Sometimes it even requires faking it. But, keep looking for the silver lining…. and then mine it.

    Keeping good thoughts for you.

    Caroline

  3. Came across your blog a bit ago – really enjoy your recipes, photos & writing, keep it up!

    It’s something I’m always working at to make sure staying positive does come naturally in those times I especially need it (if that makes any sense??) You’re doing great, everything will be ok and you’ll rock it on Sunday!

  4. Lisa Fine says:

    I try to stay positive, but I think I’m better at finding the positives in other people’s situations more than in my own.

    A rest day [or a few] is always a good thing before a big race. You know you’re body’s ready for the half marathon, so do what you need to do in the meantime.

    • Sarah says:

      I tend to find the positives in other people’s situations as well! 😀

      Thank you for the encouraging words! They mean a lot. 😀

  5. Lisa says:

    So sorry you got sick the week of the race! Hang in there, you will do fine. This rest will be good for you. You have trained and your body is ready.

    I *wish* I was naturally positive, but I’m not. I have to work at it. But, I have found that if I keep at it, it gets easier. Becoming a mom has made it much more of a priority and something that I don’t mind working at.

  6. I love those Dole fruit bars. They are simply delicious and tops off a wonderful day of eating for me. Nice post.

  7. livvy30 says:

    GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!! I hope it’s just a 24 hour thing and that you’ll fell better before race day!

  8. There are some days where I have to push myself to find the bright side..but for the most part it comes naturally. It wasn’t always that way, but after a few days of conciously making an effort, it became natural.

  9. Nicole says:

    I hope that you’re feeling BETTER!!!!!

  10. I’m sorry you don’t feel well. I’m sure you’ll be better by Sunday and ready to WIN your race!

    It takes some work to be positive. I know that in the end i’ll feel better by being positive, so I put on a smile and look on the bright side!

  11. Beautiful photos and great attitude. You will do well on your run. : )

Leave a Reply

