My Weekend Breakfast

Well.  As if Friday couldn’t get any sweeter, I went off and baked myself a batch of Date-Oat Breakfast Muffins.

Now, I’m not the type to demand or shout out orders, bossing you around.  Really.  I’m not.

But really.

You simply must bake yourself a batch of these irresistible muffins.  As soon as possible.

(I don’t know about you, but I find that taste testing the dates beforehand is a completely necessary step in baking a batch of muffins.  You just never know when you’ll get a bad batch of dates.  Yes.  Definitely an essential step.)

While I hold a special place in my heart for all of my muffin recipes, this one has quickly earned a welcomed spot on my Top Five Favorite Muffin List (doesn’t everybody have a Top Five Favorite Muffin List?) From a nutrition standpoint, they’re chock full of healthy omega-3’s, thanks to the walnuts and flaxseed, both of which help to reduce inflammation.  They’re also rich in fiber, leaving you full and satisfied all. morning. long.

Best of all, the list of wholesome ingredients enhances the rustic, sweet, almost candy-like flavor of the muffins.  The dates, of course, are responsible for keeping these muffins moist and sweet.  And (I promise!) they will leave your house smelling like the local bakery.

Saturday morning comes but once a week.

It’s important to make (and bake) the very most of it.

Date-Oat Breakfast Muffins–adapted from a recipe on EatingWell.com

Any leftovers can be frozen and used for a quick ‘n’ easy breakfast during the week.

  • 1 cup plus 2 Tbsp. old-fashioned oats
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 1-3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup whole flaxseeds, ground
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk (or milk with a little less than 1 Tbsp. lemon juice)
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup canola
  • zest from one medium orange
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup chopped pitted dates
  1. Preheat oven to 400F.  Coat 12 muffin cups with cooking spray.
  2. Spread 1 cup oats and the walnuts, if using, in 2 separate small baking pans.  Bake, stirring once or twice, until light golden and fragrant, 4-6 minutes for the nuts and 8-10 minutes for the oats.  Transfer to a plate to cool.
  3. Meanwhile, whisk whole-wheat flour, flaxseeds, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl.
  4. Whisk eggs and brown sugar in a medium bowl until smooth.  Whisk in buttermilk, orange juice, oil, orange zest and vanilla.  Add to the dry ingredients and mix with a rubber spatula just until moistened.  Fold in dates, the toasted oats and nuts, if using.  Scoop batter into the prepared muffin cups (they’ll be quite full).  Sprinkle the tops with the remaining 2 Tbsp. oats.
  5. Bake the muffins until the tops are golden brown and spring back when touched lightly, 15-25 minutes.  Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes.  Loosen edges and turn muffins out onto wire rack to cool slightly before serving.  Muffins may be rewarmed in the oven or microwave before serving, if desired.  Enjoy! 😀
QUESTION: Do you make anything special for the weekends?
11 comments on “My Weekend Breakfast

  1. Yum, those look tasty!

    I’m a pancake OR waffle OR french toast girl on the weekends. Can’t wait…

  2. Michael says:

    So, it was a good date Friday?

  3. Ashlei says:

    I love dates in muffins! Or cookies. 🙂 Sometimes I’ll make something special on the weekends, like french toast. Depends on how I’m feeling. Have a great weekend!

  4. kristisn says:

    I try to make something on the weekend that I usually don’t have time to make during the week like pancakes or waffles… or something special for dinner.

  5. love your new blog! these muffins sounds fantastic!

  6. Caitlyn says:

    We have to be related somehow because we have sooo much in common! Like taste testing dates! I taste test them even when I’m not baking with them. I just want to make sure there’s nothing wrong with them. You know…quality control 🙂

  7. Katie says:

    Haha, “bake” the most of your Saturday morning – I love it.

  8. I LOVE the combination of dates and orange, so of course these muffins would be a huge hit with me. And yes, I definitely have a favorite muffin list…but it is definitely not limited to five 😛

  9. These look great!! I’m a big fan of anything that has dates in it :d

  10. czechvegan says:

    Those muffins look delicious! I am so going to try them for Saturday breakfast:)

Leave a Reply

