What Do I Do: Bok Choy

Thank you so very much for all of the sweet comments regarding the new blog site and look!!  Thank you also to everyone for updating your subscriptions and readers.  I’m excited about all the changes that I have in store, and I can’t wait to share them with you.  Blogging wouldn’t be the same without you!!  

~Sarah

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What Do I Do…

…with Bok Choy?

A few days ago, I found myself standing in the produce isle, face to face with a giant, slightly oblong, very unusual looking globe.  Pearly white at the bottom.  Rich and deeply green at the top.  It struck me that having made the time to get to know this funny vegetable a little bit more, he wasn’t at all as intimidating as I had first made him out to be.

Until today, when I remembered that very same bok choy, and how it was still sitting in my fridge.  Stuffed somewhere between the milk carton, the leftover brown rice and the bottle of Trader Joe’s raspberry jam.

Some girls buy loads and loads of shoes.  

This girl buys loads and loads of vegetables.

They way I see it, vegetables are cheaper than shoes anyway, so I’ve never really tried to cure myself of this problem.

Just like swiss chard, bok choy is a low maintenance kind of vegetable.  Rinse.  Chop.  Saute with salt and vinegar.

I like that about bok choy.  I think we’ll be good friends.

Sauteed Bok Choy

(Serves 1-2)

The white stalks are bright and sweet.  The greens have a slight mustard quality.  Together, they perform the most beautiful symphony of flavors.

  • 1 head bok choy, rinsed and chopped
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • sea salt
  • red wine vinegar
  1. Heat oil in a medium pot over medium heat.
  2. Add bok choy.  Cook until beginning to wilt.  Add salt and vinegar, continue to cook until soft and tender.  Enjoy!
7 comments on “What Do I Do: Bok Choy

  1. Sara says:

    I love the crunch of bok choy! I also love the look of your new blog! Can’t wait to read your new posts!

  2. Colline says:

    Bok Choy is also delicious stir-fried in oil with some soya sauce. Stir frying keeps its crispiness. We eat it with rice and other stir-fried vegetables.

  3. Katie says:

    Looks good! I’ve only used it in soups, but this actually looks tastier. And easier.

    Love the new blog!

  4. Ha! I have the same problem – my grocery store has such a gorgeous produce section but I’m not quite sure what to do with half the veggies (fiddleheads?). Anyway – I love bok choi. It’s also delicious sauted with a tiny bit of sesame oil & some oyster sauce.

  5. Kai Online says:

    Hi nice blogs :-). I am also starting to create mine. I love food!

Leave a Reply

