returning to the keyboard.

Having been away for a little over 2 months, I have to be honest.  It feels a little awkward coming back.

My blog has always felt a lot like home to me, mostly because I like to invite all of you into my own personal life.  Only right now, it doesn’t feel as much like home, mostly because I haven’t been here in such a long time.   I don’t even know, really, where to start.

I guess I should just start with the reason why I left in the first place.

I grew tired of cooking.

There.

I said it.

Years and years of throwing together meals, indulging myself in fabulous new cuisines and breathing in the fresh aromas that encapsulated me in my tiny little kitchen.  How, you ask, could I grow tired of that?

Last week I got together with a group of college buddies, only to hear one of my foodie friends state that she too had grown tired of cooking.  That at the end of the day, the last thing she wanted to do was to even think of preparing dinner.  I suddenly realized that I wasn’t alone.

It happens to all of us.  We grow tired of the things that we love.  And sometimes we have to step far away.  But usually, more often than not, we walk on back.  Because it’s in us.  Those intricate little things that make us who we are.

And that is the plain and simple story of why I left.  There are no other dramatic stories to tell, and I’m truly sorry if I worried some of you with my unexpected leave!  I haven’t yet fallen off the planet. ;)

There are so many things that I can’t wait to catch all of you up on.  Life is exciting and a lot has happened over the past two months.

(Nicole, by the way, deserves credit for getting me started again, after routinely asking me when I’m going to start blogging…thanks, Nicole!) :mrgreen:

I’ll save most of what I have to share for the upcoming weeks, but I do want to introduce you all to Humphrey.

I’m a self reported dog lover.  Dog behavior and training fascinates me.  I’m obsessed with big black labs and drooly, snoring bulldogs.  Always have been, always will be.

But then I met Humphrey (formerly known as Digger) at a cat shelter.

I fell in love with him as soon as he crawled up into my lap.  While the other cats could care less of my very presence, Humphrey purred and kneaded his way deep into my heart.

He’s turned out to be a little handful of love mixed with mischief mixed with “cat”titude.  He knows what he likes and he’ll let you know if he doesn’t.  He loves to climb and knock things over.  Most of all, he loves to be brushed and snuggled and fed (organic beef and liver is his fave.)

I’ll share lots more about him in the coming weeks!

Well.

As awkward as it feels to just come walking right back in, as if nothing has changed—no time has elapsed–it still feels really good to be here once again.

Home always makes sense.

Besides, I’ve honest to goodness missed all of you.  It feels really good to be back. :D

QUESTION: What is the most exciting thing that has happened to you in the past 2 months?  Haha!…Apparently, I have a LOT to catch up on. ;)

31 comments on “returning to the keyboard.

  1. Megha says:

    It’s sooo good to have u back!!! Was getting worried now. :-)
    The break is totally understandable.
    The most exciting thing that has happened to me recently is that I got a 10 year visa to the US and am headed there this month!

  2. emily says:

    glad to see you’re back to blogging. but honestly, i think breaks are good and sometimes blogging should definitely take a backseat to real life. :)
    how’s the job search going?!

    i don’t think anything terribly exciting has happened in the past couple of months for me, but life is good and that is enough. :)

    • Sarah says:

      Thanks, and I completely agree. Sometimes a step away is a good thing. :-)

      (Oh, and I have MUCH to share on the job front!)

  3. mixxedtape says:

    It’s great to have you back :) I love to hear about all that happened these last few months and Humphrey looks adorable!!

  4. Lenore says:

    YAY!!! You’re back! Good for you in taking time off. I hope life treated you well in your hiatus and am excited to hear about what has happened! WELCOME HOME!

  5. Humphrey is SO cute! But I’m glad that everything is okay :)

  6. Molly says:

    I’m burned out on cooking, but definitely still love eating! And looking at pictures of food! And I still get excited about once-in-a-while projects, like an elaborate baking project that involves a new technique, or seasonal ingredients that are so fleeting-right now I can’t get enough rhubarb and asparagus.

  7. Katryn says:

    YAY! So glad you’re back! Hmm, I think the most exciting thing in my life in the past 2 months was running my first half marathon in 1:42! That was a good day. :-)

  8. Katrina says:

    It’s so good to see you back!!! I LOVE the stories of Humphrey. I can’t wait to hear more.

  9. Nicole says:

    You’re back!!!! :)

  10. Sarah B says:

    Ah, I too am in a bit of a non-cooking slump. But I’m really glad to see you writing again!! Humphrey sounds like quite the adorable addition to your family.

    • Sarah says:

      I wonder, maybe, if it has something to do with the change of seasons? I’m excited for farmers markets and fresh produce, so hopefully that will once again inspire me to get cookin’. :-)

  11. Aranel says:

    I’m so glad you “haven’t yet fallen off the planet”!!

    The most exciting thing?… well, perhaps a breakup?… but this definitely had nothing to do with you blogging and cooking break :)

  12. Bea says:

    I’m really happy to see that you’re back! But I’m also glad it seems like you got a chance to take a break and come back more refreshed. Look forward to meeting Humphrey :)
    In the last two months, I finished exams (not exciting, mentally exhausting) and started a blog! I arrived in Hong Kong a couple days ago, so I guess that’s exciting too ;)

  13. broccolihut says:

    Welcome back! I definitely missed your inspired recipes over the past two months. New things in my life in that time: I was matched to a dietetic internship (yay!) and I just completed my master’s degree.

    • That is so exciting!!! You must have been thrilled to see that you were matched. I knew you would. :D

      Oh, and congrats on your masters degree! I’m hoping to go for mine this coming fall/spring. :D

  14. Emily says:

    Welcome back!!! I was just wondering where you went the other day! I like your meal ideas and missed them!!

  15. samanthaangela says:

    Welcome back!! I’ve been patiently awaiting your return ;)
    Life must be busy for you lately with work and a new furry family member (who is adorable by the way!). I’m so happy that you are doing well outside of the kitchen and I’m sure your passion for cooking will return.

Leave a Reply

