apple smothered pork chops.

The simplest pork chop begins with a couple of apples, a dash of cinnamon, a bit of brown sugar, and one onion.

Cooked, cooked, cooked.

Until you spot that fine balance, where the apples are forced into a decision of either holding together or falling delicately apart.  All smokey and steamy and oozing with spicy-sweet aroma.

Meanwhile.

In another pan.

The pork chops are browning.

Just as they are.  With just a drizzle of oil to prevent any unwanted sticking.

And before you know it...voila!

You just scoop the apples on top and pretend that you slaved away all day.

When really?

All you did was stand in the kitchen, watching a few apples and pork chops cook.

And that, my friends, is the simplest pork chop.

Apple Smothered Pork Chops
(Serves 4) 

  • 4 bone-in, center-cut pork loin chops
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 large tart apples, sliced
  • 1/2 cup sliced onion
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  1. In a large skillet, brown pork chops in oil.  Cover and cook for 7-8 minutes or until a meat thermometer reads 145°.
  2. Meanwhile, in small non-stick skillet, cook the apples, onion, cinnamon and brown sugar over medium heat for 3-4 minutes or until apples are softened. Smother pork chops with apples and serve. 
QUESTION: What is your “simplest” tried and true, no-fail recipe?  Baked beans!  Aside from the waiting time, they’re ridiculously easy to whip together.  A sure crowd pleaser. :D

31 comments on “apple smothered pork chops.

  1. Nicole says:

    Banana bread. Lemon cookies. Sweet potato and rosemary soup.

  2. Rocio says:

    Hmmm It looks so delicious!!

  3. BroccoliHut says:

    During my Ellie Project, I remember being a little suspicious of making a warm apple slaw–I mean, I’m all for apple pie, but warm apples in a savory way? It seemed odd, but once I tried it, I was completely hooked!
    Anyway, this recipe reminded me of how delicious apples + onions can be.Yum, yum!

    • Sarah says:

      Apples and onions really do go nicely together. I remember feeling put off by using *cinnamon* in savory ways at one point as well, since I’m so used to having it in oats, breads, etc. It’s surprising sometimes, to find what “sweet” ingredients pair well with the savory. :D

      • Lenore says:

        I think I’ve fallen in love with fennel, parsnips, carrots, and onion… sweet and spicy with different dry herbs and spices.

        Hope everything is going well, Sarah! How did the interview go?

  4. Adi says:

    Sarah, I have missed your blog! I used to check it all the time but at least now I have a bunch of good posts to read!
    Easiest Recipe… Cereal and milk!!

  5. i have to say, chickpea curry and a veggie egg scramble – two simple things that can’t be beat!

    • Sarah says:

      I love curries!! So delicious. I made a parsnip curry the other day, and it was so simple to throw together.

      And veggie egg scrambles are such a go-to meal. I may just have to make one tonight. :D

      • you know, i’ve never had a parsnip in my life. i’ve seen others post about parsnip fries. what do they taste like?

        i’m thinking my husband and i may have to stop by our local grocer’s store so i can get some veggies for a saturday morning fritata!

  6. Janelle says:

    Simplest no-fail “recipe” doesn’t even require a recipe; it’s taco salad. Lettuce, warmed up black beans, warmed up salsa, maybe some brown or yellow rice if I feel like it, maybe cheese, and crumbled up tortilla chips on top. Can’t get much easier than that and it’s the BEST!

  7. Bea says:

    That looks yummy! Love apples + pork chops. I’ve only made pork chops once though and there ended being a lot of fat splattering and oil left on the meat. Do you have any advice on that? Sorry that sounds unappetizing, haha.

    I like to make a chickpea stew with tomatoes, an onion and several cloves of thinly sliced garlic.

    • Sarah says:

      Pork chops tend to be pretty lean, but there can be some fat drippings in the pan afterwards (yuck!) I usually just drain the pan and wipe off any extra drippings with a paper towel before adding the apples/onions on top.

      Your chickpea stew sounds lovely! And so simple to make. I’ll have to try it. :D

  8. Jessica says:

    This sounds and looks fantastic! My fiance would LOVE this…I can’t wait to make it for him!

  9. Stephanie says:

    Hey Sarah, where do you find your recipes? I am trying to change my diet to a more plant-based, natural diet and it is hard with all the pre-packaged stuff in the grocery store to know how to plan meals.

  10. Emily says:

    my mom used to make a recipe like this all the time growing up.
    i think baked apples are the best ever. :)

  11. Shortbread cookies. You really can’t go wrong with butter, sugar, and vanilla (or get much simpler).

    Also, pain a l’ancienne. It’s a bitch to work with the dough, but it always comes out awesome.

  12. jelillie says:

    Sweet potato and rosemary soup? When do we get the recipe for that? I need more simple recipes!

  13. Katryn says:

    Hi Sarah! I noticed you haven’t posted for awhile. I hope you’re doing ok and I look forward to more posts!!

  14. Becky Sue says:

    Yes, Sarah, checking in. Hope you are okay.

  15. Megs Lederer says:

    Hey Sarah! I hope you are simply having too much fun to post anything at the present time. Best wishes!!

Leave a Reply

