Dining Out At Panera Bread.

I decided to add a new page to the blog’s headline.

Introducing: “Dining Out”

I love eating out and trying new foods.  I also love that it’s completely possible to eat well at many restaurants, with new menu items popping up all.of.the.time.  From chain restaurants to the small ma and pa cafe’s, I thought it would be fun to include some of the healthy options/requests/orders that are available out there.

Today, I stopped in at Panera Bread, which is one of my favorite places to eat when I’m out and about.

U-Pick-2 Option:  Black Bean Soup.  Classic Salad.  Whole Grain Baguette (that’s a special request, as the order will automatically deliver a white baguette unless you ask.)

It’s delicious.  Filling.  Soul satisfying.

I only wish I knew what the secret was to their black bean soup (there’s cumin, red onions and black beans in there, and that is all I know!)

When I’m dining out, I like to include some protein (i.e., black bean soup), vegetables (i.e., salad) and a whole grain if possible (i.e., whole grain baguette.)  These three combined, along with a little fat (i.e., fat used in making soup and/or salad dressing) keeps me deliciously full for hours.

It also gives me plenty of energy to shop, shop, shop.  Which is exactly what I did all day. :D

QUESTION: What is your favorite “chain restaurant”?  I’m a big fan of Panera and the Cheesecake Factory.

19 comments on “Dining Out At Panera Bread.

  1. Um, you and I get the EXACT same thing at Panera. No lie.

    I adore that place. Their bagels are bomb.

  2. BroccoliHut says:

    Count me in on the same order at Panera too–I ALWAYS order the same thing :) Love that black bean soup!
    I recently discovered Pita Pit too, and I love it–they make a good black bean burger. Hm. I guess I just really like black beans.

  3. panera is the best! i love their healthy options :)

  4. Katrina says:

    One of my favorite places is a Greek chain called Zoe’s. I can get a power protein plate, veggie roll ups and braised white beans which make me giggle they are so good.

    Love the new page!

  5. Nicole says:

    I’m in love with Panera’s BBQ Chicken Salad!! :) (And I also have a guilty pleasure there — their broccoli cheddar soup). Ha, ha.

  6. Gotta love Panera! I haven’t had the black bean soup, but by the looks of it, maybe I should. I also love Chipotle for their healthy eating options. (At least in Seattle) they serve brown rice and try to buy locally. Plus I can’t seem to go wrong with anything Mexican-y.

  7. If we’re talking fast food, I like subway or tim horton’s. We don’t have Panera here, so that’s not an option.

  8. Janelle says:

    I love love love Panera. My absolute favorite fast non-fast-food place. The only thing I don’t like is that some of their soups that you’d assume to be vegetarian really are not. Disappointing!

Leave a Reply

