fighting the common cold.

It’s that time of year again…

I’m not actualy sick.  Yet.  But it’s happening.  I can feel it.

My eyes are starting to burn.  My throat feels like pea soup.  A 3-mile run left me beat.

Tonight, I didn’t even cook.

I just threw some Dr. Praegger’s veggie burgers on the pan along with some whole wheat hamburger buns.

Nothing pretty.  Nothing fancy.

Just simple and tasty.

With a little last-minute help from the broiler. ;)

With all these colds and flu’s floating around, I wanted to share some tips on how to stay healthy through the cold and flu season.

Of course, there’s no guarentee that these things will keep you from getting sick (cough, cough…obviously!…cough, cough,) but they sure do help.

Did you know that having just one mild vitamin deficiency can make all the difference in having a great versus a poor immune system?

While many people turn to supplements (or gallons and gallons of orange juice,) there’s no prescription quite like an overall healthy diet filled with plenty of whole grains, dark green veggies, legumes, fish, yellow fruits and veggies, etc.  Getting plenty of sleep, staying hydrated, and getting a daily dose of exercise are also key in keeping your body healthy and protected.  It won’t prevent you from ever getting sick, but it will provide defense and it will help you get better quicker.

In other words, don’t want until you get sick (or start popping those vitamin C pills!) to fight back.  Feed your body what it needs with real, nutrient dense foods and it will reward you with good health.

When you do get sick, continue eating well.  Take light walks as you’re able.  And forget those vitamin C pills!  Although this is an important vitamin in keeping a healthy immunity, there has been no proven benefit to overdosing on this vitamin; one orange will provide almost your entire day’s intake of vitamin C.

Feed your body well.  It knows how to take care of itself. ;)

QUESTION: How do you “fight back” when you get the cold/flu?  I try to stay well hydrated and well nourished.  I also absolutely crave oranges, tea and veggies when I’m sick.  And, unless I’m really sick, I find that small walks throughout the day make me feel eons better.  :D

16 comments on “fighting the common cold.

  1. Jean-François says:

    Good tips, and you make even a simple meal look inviting. Great photos. I’d never heard of Dr. Praegger’s before, but will keep an eye out for them now.

  2. dfmw says:

    Reblogged this on the Pub servation and commented:
    hate getting sick

  3. Becky Sue says:

    A couple weeks ago both my kids were sick with a cold and then a few days later I felt it creeping up on me… sore throat, aches, mild congestion… I went to the store and bought some Zicam and took the recommended dose for two and a half days and it never progressed any further. I was so happy since we were going to see my parents and I didn’t want to get them sick. I’ll try it again next time I feel myself coming down with a cold before I really sing its praises.

    Your meal looks delish!

  4. I wholeheartedly agree with all of your tips…I eat a lot of oranges and grapefruits, drink tea and lemon/ginger water, and get some fresh air! I usually do some yoga too (nothing too strenuous) as I find it helps with headaches and congestion. Always helps me get over a cold more quickly.

    I’m glad you clarified the vitamin C requirements because I’m always confused as to why so many people take pills when it’s SO easy to get through food. I guess it might be necessary for people with citrus allergies.

    • Some other tasty sources of vitamin C are bell peppers, tomatoes and blueberries (my personal favorite!) :D

      I agree that a little yoga can really clear up the head when everything is all congested! I just might have to do that this morning. :D

  5. BroccoliHut says:

    Ah man–sorry to hear that you’re not feeling 100%–I hope you kick that cold in the pants.
    When I feel a cold coming on, I usually up my fruit and veggie intake even further, emphasizing as many colors as I can. I also tend to gravitate toward soup, oatmeal, and scrambled eggs.

    • The more colors the better! You’re so right. :D

      I’m feeling better this morning, so I’m hoping it’s nothing…just a little congestion that will come and go without amounting too much. *Crossing fingers.* :D

  6. Simply Tia says:

    I just got over a cold myself so I know how it feels. I hope you get better soon.

    Your veggie burger dinner looks delicious.

  7. Emily says:

    Similar post coming from me, too! Great minds think alike. :) I don’t get sick very often due to a lot of the things you mentioned…a plant heavy diet and adequate sleep are usually good enough for me. I do find that drinking wheat grass seems to help my immune system. :)

  8. jelillie says:

    A combination of rest and pushing through!

Leave a Reply

