Baked Banana-Blueberry Oatmeal.

This is Part 29 of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

Sunday mornings are made for long morning walks before going to church.  Hot cups of steamy coffee with soy.  Family lunches.  The newspaper’s crossword puzzles.

And, of course, breakfast.

Normally, I eat within 10 minutes of getting up, before grabbing my cup of coffee and hopping on the computer for work-related things.

Not on Sunday, though.  No sirree.

On Sunday, I like to slow things down a little.  I pull out the pots and pans and I allow myself the luxury of making an absolute mess.  

Oatmeal is every day food around here.  Nothing fancy.  Nothing to brag about.

Baked oatmeal, however, is an entirely different entity.

The bananas fluff up like little bits of toasted marshmallow.  The walnuts get extra crispy and the blueberries pop.  Perhaps the best part is the texture of the oatmeal itself.  All gooey and smooth and custardy like.

I’m not one to wait 30 minutes before eating breakfast.

But.

Sometimes it’s worth it.

Besides…

…that’s what Sunday mornings are for.

Baked Banana-Blueberry Oatmeal
(Serves 4) 

I found the idea for this baked oatmeal on the back of a Stop & Shop grocery store flyer, but I tweaked it to make it just a tad bit healthier.

Regular, old fashioned oatmeal is one of the best breakfasts you could possibly eat.  You can easily start your day with a good dose of whole grains and fiber, and it’s the perfect opportunity to add in a splash of some of the other healthy ingredients too (like flax and walnuts.)  Oatmeal has been popularized for its cholesterol lowering benefits (thanks to the fiber content) and it can taste absolutely delicious too!  Let your imagination run wild with varying fruit, nut and spice combinations.

Oh.  And trust me.  This breakfast is worth the wait.  Enjoy!

  • 2 cups uncooked old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup walnut pieces
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, not packed
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1-1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp. crushed flaxseed (optional)
  • 2 cups low fat milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries (do not dethaw)
  • 2 bananas, peeled and sliced
  1. Preheat oven to 350.  In a large bowl, mix together oats, half of the walnuts, sugar, baking powder and cinnamon (and flax, if using.)
  2. In another bowl, whisk together milk, egg, and vanilla; add to the dry ingredients and stir until just combined.  Fold in the blueberries.
  3. Spray the bottom of an 8-inch pan and add sliced bananas.  Pour batter over bananas and top with the remaining walnuts.  Bake uncovered for 35-40 minutes until top is golden and the oatmeal is set.  Enjoy!

QUESTION: When you have the time, what is one of your most favorite “special breakfasts”?

16 comments on “Baked Banana-Blueberry Oatmeal.

  1. I agree, I always take advantage of weekends to make the breakfasts I don’t have time to cook during the week!

    And I’m totally bookmarking this recipe, it looks amazing!

  2. wartica says:

    I eat – both blueberries and oatmeal – every morning. I might as well start mixing them together.Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  3. BroccoliHut says:

    I, too, love to have a piping bowl of oats on more leisurely mornings. However, every weekend, I try to make the time for either pancakes or waffles. They take a little longer than my usual smoothie or cereal, but they’re such comfort foods!

  4. Emily says:

    I love baked oatmeal. I eat it for dinner sometimes!! Or throw it in while I’m in the shower for breakfast and I come out and my apt smells AMAZING!!

  5. Nicole says:

    Hmmm, can’t wait to try this!! :)

  6. I’ve never heard of baked oatmeal but this looks absolutely amazing! I can’t wait to try this recipe. :)

  7. [...] after running 10 miles, so I dug right into the Baked Banana-Blueberry Oatmeal I made last night (recipe credit to Sarah at The Flying Onion). Baking yesterday saved me some time this morning, so all I [...]

  8. [...] Apple Baked Oatmeal (serves 4) based loosely off Sarah‘s baked oatmeal recipe. [...]

  9. Hannah says:

    I tried a few different baked oatmeal recipes and this one is the winner. It turned out perfect. I left bananas out on half of it (just a preference. My boyfriend likes them in his oatmeal, I don’t) and i used pecans because it’s what I had.

Leave a Reply

