time for tempeh.

This is Part XVII of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

So.

It’s Tuesday night.

You have 30 minutes to prepare dinner.

(And you don’t have time for those so called 30 minute recipes that actually take you 3 hours.)

(But you’d rather not resort to frozen pizza.)

Well.

Here you go.

Oh.

But a word of caution first.

Please don’t let the word “tempeh” make you run and hide under the dinner table.

Tempeh, unlike tofu, is meaty in texture and it mixes really well with a variety of tastes and personalities.

(Throw at it what you will!)

Just be sure to double the recipe if you plan on seeing any leftovers tomorrow.

Spicy Thai Tempeh w/ Cashews–modified from an original recipe appearing in the Clean Eating Cookbook
(Serves 4) 

I serve this not-too-spicy meal over a basic rice pilaf (purchased from Trader Joe’s,) with some sauteed collard greens on the side.

Don’t skimp on the cashews or the red onion, as they sweeten up the dish quite nicely.  You can add some crushed red pepper or extra spicy chili paste if you’re into that sort of thing!  Enjoy!

  • 1-8oz package tempeh
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 1 roasted red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 cup toasted cashews
  • 1 Tbsp. roasted red chili paste
  • 2 Tbsp. maple syrup
  • 2 tsp. soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 4 scallions, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped (optional)
  1. Cut tempeh into large chunks and steam 8 minutes.  Remove and set aside.
  2. In a large pot, saute onion in olive oil for 10 minutes or until caramelized.  Crumble tempeh into skillet.  Add roasted red pepper and cashews.  Saute 5 minutes.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together chili paste through cilantro.  Pour over temp, saute another minute or so and serve.  ENJOY!

QUESTION: What is your favorite 30-minute (or less) dinner?

10 comments on “time for tempeh.

  1. Caitlyn says:

    The first time I tried tempeh I ate it raw on a sandwich. Never again! The second time I got smart and used it in chili. So much better! I actually have some tempeh in the refrigerator for tomorrows meal. I will be making this soon, though!

    My favorite 30-minute meal has to be tostados. Toasted tortillas spread guacamole and grilled chicken always hit the spot!

  2. Becky Sue says:

    This looks so good! I’ve eaten tempeh but have never bought it. I’m going to give this a try! Thanks for posting these recipes, Sarah!

  3. Yayyy tempeh (I think I’m in the minority in that I enjoy raw tempeh)!

    I am definitely making this for dinner in the near future. Cashews and roasted pepper are some of my favourite flavours to add to stir-fries.

  4. BroccoliHut says:

    I don’t really use tempeh very often, although I quite enjoy its flavor and texture. Thanks for the reminder!

  5. I have never even tasted tempeh! Weird I know, I feel like this is something I would have tasted by now. I will give it a try though, and I appreciate your tips and recipe!

Leave a Reply

