a cold run and a bowl of soup.

You know those types of mornings when everything seems so still, so perfect?

You know those mornings when you feel like you’re flying, not running?

You know those mornings that remind you of life’s simple pleasures (like seeing your breath in the air, hearing the crunch of snow beneath your feet, feeling the wind tousle your hair)?

Yeah.

It was that kind of morning.

I went out for my third run this week.

As many of you know, I diagnosed myself with achilles tendonitis last month.  For the record, I don’t recommend diagnosing injuries.  But I’ve had this before and I know exactly what it feels like.  Thankfully, it seems to be on the upswing.

This morning I felt like an antsy thoroughbred after a long, cold winter.  I felt all bottled up with energy, ready to be set free at the sound of a gun.  *BAM* Annnnd, she’s off!

That all happened before I somehow managed to take control of myself.  It’s so easy to get ahead of myself on the “good days,” when my legs feel good and everything in me wants to bolt out the miles.  But my body isn’t quite at 100% yet.  It was just three days ago that I was feeling knee and heel pain, and the last thing I want is for this stuff to flare its ugly head.

It’s not easy, but I’m going to be smart about this.  My goal is to enter 2012, injury free.

No makeup? Check. Sweaty? Check. Feeling happy and healthy? Check, check. =)

I honestly can’t think of a better way to warm up from a chilly morning run, than plopping myself down in front of a bowl of steamy, homemade turkey noodle soup.

This soup was ridiculously easy to put together, thanks to the pre-chopped leftover turkey I had sitting in the freezer from Thanksgiving.

I wanted to sneak in some extra veggies and added about a cup’s worth of fresh baby spinach to the bottom of the bowl.  The warm broth wilted the tender spinach, which made for a lovely addition.

Turkey Noodle Soup–modified from a Cooking Light Magazine recipe
(Serves 4)

This is a soulful, comforting recipe.  Thanks to the noodles, vegetables and turkey, you can call this a complete meal.  But I recommend upping the vegetables by including a fresh side salad (and possibly a dish of fruit with a scoop of sorbet for dessert.)  Enjoy!

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 cup sliced carrots
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 cup sliced celery
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 6 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth (I like “Kitchen Basic No Salt Added Chicken Broth”)
  • 2 cups (3 ounces) uncooked noodles
  • 1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 cups shredded turkey (about 8 ounces)
  1. Heat a large saucepan with olive oil over medium-high heat.   Add carrot, onion, and garlic; sauté 5 minutes or until onion is lightly browned.   Add celery, salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper; sauté 3 minutes.
  2. Add broth and next 2 ingredients; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes.   Add shredded turkey; cook 3 minutes. Sprinkle with coarsely ground black pepper, if desired.  Enjoy!

QUESTION: What is your favorite cold-weather soup?  I am a little embarrassed to admit this, but my all-time favorite soup is a thick and hearty split pea soup!  With or without ham, I find it to be simply irresistible.  Especially when there’s homemade bread on the side. :D

4 comments on “a cold run and a bowl of soup.

  1. Caitlyn says:

    I think I would be having warm soup as well if I went running with snow on the ground!! My bowl would have a chunky tomato soup with a hunk of bread (or a grilled cheese) on the side!

    I’m glad your injury is getting better! You’ll be 100% recovered in no time.

  2. Alexiasana says:

    yummy! that soup looks super delicious! reminds me of minestrone, which i adore! my favourite winter soup at the moment is a thick carrot and ginger soup. i sometimes mix red lentils or/and coconut milk in it too. i just love soups and all variations of it.. thick, creamy, smooth, chunky- there are endless ways to make a nice soup!

  3. Nicole says:

    Hmmm, that sounds delish! My favorite soup is sweet potato and rosemary. But I pretty much love EVERY soup out there. Ha, ha.

  4. I love cold weather runs when the sun is shining. This weekend was perfect for that.

    My sister makes a mean chicken noodle soup but I never make her recipe because Matt usually eats all the chicken before I get a chance (luckily he’ll at least leave me with the carcass for stock).
    I really like potato leek soup and cabbage soup, but my favourites are my nonna’s pasta e fagiole and this yoghurt soup that my Lebanese grandmother used to make at easter.

Leave a Reply

