a good day for pancakes.

This morning, I found myself singing Christmas carols.

In October.

I have to say, this is most definitely a record for me. ;)

I also found myself craving pancakes.

There’s something about eating pancakes during a snowstorm (kind of like eating eggs after a hard run…don’t ask me why, there’s no explanation for these sorts of cravings.)  And it seemed like a good time to break out the buckwheat flour that my family and I had bought in New Brunswick, Canada from this past summer.

Buckwheat on its own can have a very strong, slightly bitter flavor.  I like to mix it with some other form of flour and a touch of sugar which mellows it all out, showing the good side of buckwheat.

Now.  Let’s be honest for a moment.  A plate of pancakes is just an adult’s excuse to eat dessert for dinner.  And.  Well.  I pretty much love it.

However, I also love feeling balanced.  Not tired or cranky or stuffed with sweet n’ sticky maple syrup.  That’s why I like to balance out the sweetness with some filling protein in the form of a veggie omelette.  Balance.

I topped the omelette with some melty swiss cheese and veggies…

…and then I topped the pancakes with some local maple syrup.  Delicious.

This New England snowstorm sure was cozy while it lasted.

But now it’s time to get outside and clean up.

Sigh.

Who needs the gym?

Buckwheat Pancakes

(serves 4)

  • 1/2 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk (or 1 cup low fat milk with 1 Tbsp. lemon juice)
  • 2 Tbsp. butter, melted
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 egg white
  1. Combine the dry ingredients with a whisk.
  2. Combine the buttermilk, butter and egg yolk with a whisk.  Add to dry ingredients and whisk together with a few strokes.  Batter will be lumpy.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the egg white until it becomes stiff but not dry.  Fold into batter just moistened.
  4. Heat nonstick griddle to 350 (or medium heat on the stove top.)  Spray with cooking spray.
  5. Add batter into desired size and shape.  Cook until bubbly and browned on under side, flip, and continue cooking until firm and browned on both sides.  Serve immediately or keep it warm on a baking sheet in a preheated 200 degree oven.  Enjoy!
QUESTION: What is your favorite pancake flavor?
21 comments on “a good day for pancakes.

  1. Evan Thomas says:

    Wow! You guys got hammered. In Providence we got barely nothing but my mom sent me a photo of my house(about an hour north from where I am) and they have a good foot of snow. Crazy to think it’s already started.

  2. Caitlyn says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one singing Christmas music! I listened to Christmas music year round once and never tired of it. Lame? Maybe!

    I can’t believe you got that much snow. That’s more than I’ve had in my whole life! Sheesh, Sarah, you need to stop hogging all the snow :-) Cold weather is the best excuse to whip up some pancakes (not that you would need an excuse). I have yet to try buckwheat pancakes. They’re next on my list!

  3. Matt LeBlanc says:

    i still have my bag as well…

    i just bought a gallon of organic maple syrup from a friend. :) makes my fall/winter look much warmer

  4. Aranel says:

    Hmm… spinach and cheese? Butter and cinnamon? Home-made black currant jam? Strawberry foam!! Right. Strawberry foam, because it is so season-limited.

    I am from Czech Republic, i.e. Central Europe – here in lowlands, we still only expect the snow, but in the mountains they´ve already had some.

  5. What a lovely little post! I too have found myself yearning for Christmas. And it’s not even Thanksgiving! Must, pace, myself.

    Mmmm, pancakes. Need I say more?

  6. i’m so jealous of that breakfast! i love buckwheat pancakes too :) one of my favs. i also like banana nut. buckwheat banana nut would be good!

  7. yum!! I need some snow ASAP!!

  8. BroccoliHut says:

    No lie, I listened to Nsync’s holiday album today in the car.
    Favorite pancake flavor = orange-blueberry!

  9. Ughh we got so much snow too… not allowed at this time of the year! Blueberry is my favorite pumpkin flavor! These look wonderful Sarah :)

  10. Nicole says:

    Can’t wait to try making this pancakes! :)

  11. Great looking buckwheat pancakes!

Leave a Reply

