Too Much Snow and a Bowl of Soup.

What in the…???

I don’t think anyone saw this one coming.

But this is New England.

Anything can happen.

And I suppose I shouldn’t complain or make a fuss, as some people in Colorado are experiencing over a foot of snow (a FOOT!  Before Thanksgiving!?!?)  As far as I’m concerned, trick or treaters aren’t supposed to have to wear down jackets over their costumes.

Aside from being a sour puss about the whole ordeal, there’s nothing like waking up to a fresh new snowfall and bright blue skies.  The air feels so clean and fresh.

Okay, okay…I’ll admit it.  The weather, the snow, the early morning sun–it’s stunning.  This weather is making me feel more energetic than I have all week.  And, admittedly, I’m pretty excited to get outdoors and have some fun.

But I’m still not sure how I feel about there being a blizzard coming our way this weekend. ;)

Of course, if ever there needed to be an excuse to make a big pot of soup, this is it.

And if you don’t happen to have snow where you live (I heard it’s still 80 in Florida!), save this soup for that first chilly day you get.  It will make you fall in love with winter.  Am I exaggerating?  Okay.  Well.  Cozying up with a bowl of hot soup and a hunk of bread will at least make the chilly weather tolerable.  Promise.

I picked up this bunch of collards from a local farmers market, after running the 5k on Sunday.

Running can make me crave any one of the following: (a) fried eggs, (b) ice cream or (c) deeply nutritious and warm, soulful foods.  Lately, I’ve been craving the latter.  And much like kale, collard greens are nutrition powerhouses.  They offer a nice touch of peppery flavor to soups, and they wilt down nicely after some cooking time.

See?  All wilted.

Collard greens remind me of the more innocent dinosaur kale, which is soft, tender and smooth.  Not rough and boisterous (albeit tasty!) like its relative, the curly kale.

Served with a couple hunks of warmed cranberry pecan bread.

(to warm and refresh day-old bread: preheat the oven to 375 and place a couple slices in foil for 5-7 minutes to warm it up while getting the crust all crispy)

Anyhow.

This snow is a little ridiculous.

But it sure does make a good excuse for welcoming home a big ol’ pot of soup.

Bean Soup with Collard Greens

(Serves about 6)

  •  2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 Tbsp. dried basil
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. dried rosemary
  • 3 15-oz. cans of a variety of beans (garbanzo, kidney, pinto, etc.)
  • 2 15-oz. cans of diced tomatoes
  • 1 bunch collard greens, chopped into bite sized pieces
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 Tbsp. rice vinegar
  1. In a large soup pot, saute garlic and onion in olive oil for about 5 minutes over medium heat.  Add spices and stir.  Add beans, tomatoes, collard greens and broth.  Bring to a boil, add rice vinegar.  Add more water as needed, if soup seems too thick.  Cover, reduce heat to simmer and cook for 45 minutes.  Enjoy!

QUESTION: Is it snowing where you live?  In your opinion, is that a GOOD thing or a BAD thing?

15 comments on “Too Much Snow and a Bowl of Soup.

  1. Caitlyn says:

    No snow here. Just bipolar weather that’s fluctating between 70*F and 30*F. I think snow is beautiful and wonderful and I love it! Then again, I live in Alabama and we only get snow once every 10 years :-) Last winter was one of those years, and I was so excited! The only boots I had were my UGGs, so I destroyed them hiking up and down my street. That was OK, though, because I go to play in the snow :-)

    Have fun outside…or inside drinking hot chocolate!!

  2. I love the doorknob photo! Hope you stay warm.

  3. mixxedtape says:

    Snow already?? The sun was shining in Belgium today and it was up to 20°C, so this seems so surreal :D

  4. livvy30 says:

    OMG!!! We’d ice on the car this morning, but snow?!?!?!?!? That’s an early winter!

  5. Lisa Fine says:

    That soup looks so good. I rarely use collard greens, but I can see how in a bean soup they’d be a good fit. (I often find them too bitter.)

    As beautiful as the snow is, I’m not quite ready for Saturday either. Can’t it wait until December?

  6. ahhh i love snow! then again i don’t live in or anywhere near it haha. i’m sure i would actually hate it if i lived in it. and soup is totally the best thing for cold days :)

  7. […] Too Much Snow and a Bowl of Soup (via The Flying Onion) […]

  8. BroccoliHut says:

    Yay for collards! I just made a batch of them last week flavored with onions, liquid smoke, and maple syrup :)
    I love snow, but I think that’s because I hardly ever get to see it living here in the South!

Leave a Reply

