an upcoming vacation.

It was a lifetime ago, but I remember it clear as day.

Dad was packing the car, filling the “turtle” with big bags of food, clothes, tents, and other such necessities.  Mom was neatly folding our clothes, after adding some last minute touches to tomorrow’s picnic lunch.  And, counting my own, there were three sets of bare feet running around the cold, dewy grass.  This was all happening, right as night was just starting to settle in.  You know, that moment when the sun and the moon seem to be getting all cozy with each other, and you wonder if the day will linger on just so.  But then, before you know it, it’s dark.

It didn’t matter.  Even still, my brother, sister and I continued to run around, delighting in the excitement of our upcoming vacation and picnics to come and more currently, catching lightning bugs and watching them fly away from our outstretched hands.

Vacation.

I relive these very same feelings whenever I pack my bags and plan a week of being away.  I still feel like that little girl.  I still delight in walking across the grass in my bare feet.  I still get that feeling of warmth and coziness when the lunches are planned and packed neatly away.

Saturday morning, I’ll be leaving for Canada with my parents, brother and my Pepere.  I consider Canada to be my home away from home, even though I don’t get up there nearly as often as I wish I could!

It’s going to be a 12 hour drive.  There will be one overnight stop.

And–*gasp*–there will be no such thing as WiFi, nor will there be any form of internet access.  I’ll be honest.  I find this slightly unnerving but incredibly liberating, all at the same time!

Tonight, it was all about finding a dinner that would be quick and easy, so that our packing could continue.  We settled on some messy lentil tacos served on whole wheat tortillas, topped with steamed, garlic-infused spinach & onions.

The meal wasn’t anything fancy, but have you ever noticed that sometimes the most un-fancy things are the most enjoyable?  And it was messy as anything.  Double bonus! :D

Messy.  And completely un-fancy.  Perfect.  Kind of like walking barefoot through the grass at night, while catching lightning bugs, and dreaming of the week to come.  Yes.  Just like that.

Lentil Tacos—slightly modified from a recipe as seen on RunnersWorld.com

  • 1 cup onions, diced
  • 1/4 cup celery, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup brown lentils, dry
  • 1-2 tablespoon chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons dried black currants or raisins, minced
  • 1 cup salsa, plus additional for topping
  • 8 6-inch whole wheat flour tortillas

  1. In a large frying pan over medium heat, sautee onions, celery, and garlic in the olive oil for five minutes or until vegetables are soft.
  2. Stir in the lentils, chili powder, cumin, and oregano. Cook for one minute.
  3. Add the broth and raisins. Cover and cook for 20 minutes, or until the lentils are tender (add more water or broth as needed…I usually add in another 1-2 c. of liquid or so). Remove the lid and cook an additional 10 minutes (until lentils are thick), stirring often.
  4. Fold in the salsa.
  5. Wrap the tortillas in a damp white cotton towel and microwave on high for one minute. Spoon the lentil mixture among the tortillas. Top with lettuce, tomatoes, and cheese if desired.  Enjoy!

QUESTION: What is one of your most memorable vacations?

13 comments on “an upcoming vacation.

  1. Lisa Fine says:

    Yay Canada!

    One of my favorite trips ever was our camping trip to the Gaspe Peninsula in Quebec last summer. I loved camping every night, going kayaking and hiking and whale watching, and being immersed in Quebecois culture. Perfection. In fact, my post today was all about car camping:
    http://lisasfoods.com/2011/07/07/how-to-prepare-for-a-car-camping-trip/

    • I went to Gaspe once when I was really small, so unfortunately, I hardly remember it. However, I do remember how gorgeous it was and I remember spotting seals and going camping and just having a blast. I would *love* to go back someday. :D

  2. Woo, vacation! I love traveling and one of my most memorable vacations was with 2 of my friends to Tunisia. I think that internet access on vacation can come in handy, but I think it’s better to go without – after all, vacation should be different than your everyday life. To be honest, I find it weird when some bloggers continue to spend a lot of the time blogging when they’re traveling … I mean, when I’m on a vacation, I want to make the most of it and enjoy it to the fullest.

  3. Sweet! Where are you headed?

    Matt and I are vacationing in the Bruce Peninsula in a couple of weeks. I can’t wait!

  4. Sweet! Where are you headed?

    Matt and I are vacationing in the Bruce Peninsula in a couple of weeks. I can’t wait!!

  5. livvy30 says:

    Have a great trip!

  6. biz319 says:

    Enjoy your time being unplugged! I am sure you’ll have a great time. Our last family vacation before my step-son got too old to vacation with us was a couple years ago – it was a simple vacation, we went to Tennessee, rented a beautiful house in the mountains – but our favorite day was the day we rented a pontoon boat for the day.

    The weather was beautiful, we would boat a bit, drop anchor, fish, swim and dive. All four of us considered that our favorite day of the vacation!

    Now my daughter is 19 and on a vacation of her own, my 21 year old step-son is engaged and lives in Texas – so sad that it seems that part of our lives is over already. :(

  7. Holly says:

    sarahhhhhh! CONGRATS ON GRADUATING! i am so sorry i am late to the graduation party, but it was so lovely to catch up on all your posts, your lovely writing, gorgeous photography and life shenanigans. i have no doubt you are going to do fabulous things and someone out there is going to be SO LUCKY to have you on staff!

    much love girl!

    holly

  8. Oh, I love the hours spent packing before going on a trip. Maybe I’m weird like that, haha. Have so much fun on your vacation! My husband and I went to Canada for our honeymoon 5 years ago – spent time in British Columbia, outside of Banff. We absolutely loved it. PS – the lentil tacos look delicious.

  9. Lentil Tacos! That’s a great idea! My mom would love this recipe–I’ll have to send it to her!

  10. Awesome idea! I totally need to make these!

Leave a Reply

